Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home

by South Memphis String BandSouth Memphis String Band


$9.42 $10.99 Save 14% Current price is $9.42, Original price is $10.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With their 2010 debut album, Home Sweet Home, the members of the South Memphis String Band -- Luther Dickinson, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Jimbo Mathus -- have succeeded in producing a recording that sounds like it could have been made at least 80 years earlier. The trio members, each of whom has had other affiliations and recording projects, play acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin, Dobro, and other string instruments, along with the occasional harmonica and kazoo, plus plenty of heavy foot-tapping for percussion, as they make their way through a series of songs credited to "Traditional" as songwriter (as well as occasional covers and originals), trading off roughly sung vocals on matters of rural concern including livestock, bootlegging, and other criminal activity. The murder of outlaw Jesse James by "that dirty little coward" Robert Ford leads things off, and other selections include "Eighteen Hammers," which sounds like it would work fine for a chain gang on a Southern highway, and the self-descriptive "Bootlegger's Blues," borrowed from the repertoire of the Mississippi Sheiks. Dickinson, Hart, and Mathus give the impression they have just gotten together in a studio to trade tunes and then released the first-take results, including count-ins and stray spoken remarks, with the musical arrangements sounding as if they were invented on the spot. It's a devoted act of preservation to seem this spontaneous.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/19/2010
Label: Memphis Int'l
UPC: 0823862202128
catalogNumber: 224
Rank: 55333

Album Credits

Performance Credits

South Memphis String Band   Primary Artist
Alvin Youngblood Hart   Group Member
Jimbo Mathus   Group Member
Luther Dickinson   Group Member

Technical Credits

Blind Willie Johnson   Composer
Mississippi Sheiks   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
James Luther Dickinson   Liner Notes
Bill Wax   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Brooke Barnett   Artwork
Tom Foster   Logo
Justin Showah   Engineer
Winn McElroy   Engineer
South Memphis String Band   Arranger,Producer
James H. Mathis   Composer
Jackson MacInnis   Engineer
G.E. Hart   Composer
Jonny Lee Moore   Composer
Michael Taylor   Engineer

Customer Reviews