Honor Among Thieves (Honors Series #1)

Honor Among Thieves (Honors Series #1)

by Rachel Caine, Ann Aguirre

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Meet your new favorite kickass heroine in this daring YA series by New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre, a thrilling yet romantic futuristic adventure perfect for fans of Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You.

Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062571014
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/13/2018
Series: Honors Series , #1
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 116,275
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Rachel Caine is the coauthor of the Honors series and has written more than fifty novels in multiple genres, including young adult, thriller, science fiction/fantasy, horror, and paranormal romance. She is best known for the #1 internationally bestselling fifteen-book Morganville Vampires series and her Weather Warden series in urban fantasy. She lives and works in Fort Worth, Texas, with her husband, artist, actor, and comic historian R. Cat Conrad. www.rachelcaine.com


Ann Aguirre is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author with a degree in English literature. Before she began writing full time, she was a clown, a clerk, a voice actress, and a savior of stray kittens, not necessarily in that order. She grew up in a yellow house across from a cornfield, but now she lives in sunny Mexico with her husband, children, and various pets. She writes all kinds of genre fiction for adults and teens. www.annaguirre.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Honor Among Thieves 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+is+space+opera+with+a+twist%21++Non-stop+action%2C+very+different+characters%2C+I+really+enjoyed+it%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was immwdiately pulled into the world and its characters. Great story. Lots of action that leaves you breathless for more.
ruthsic 10 days ago
This science fiction about an unlikely bond forming between a human girl and an alien, as they traverse the galaxies had a lot of heart and adventure. Zara Cole is an unusual pick for an Honor - she has been in and out of juvie, abhors authority and is the youngest recruit ever. She is being paired with another prodigy on the alien/spaceship Nadim, for the Tour, where they spend a year traveling and doing collaborative research across the galaxies. If successful, they and Nadim can all go on the Journey - a mysterious rite of passage for the Leviathans, shrouded in secrets and a lifelong commitment. For Zara, the Tour is a way to escape a mob boss back home, to become public enough that retaliating against her wouldn't be so easy, but she is also wary about the whole Honor program, especially when she learns that a previous Honor returned from a mission with psychological damage. She keeps herself aloof from her crew, but pretty soon she can't help but bond with Bea, the other Honor, and Nadim, who is an interesting entity to her. Now, I should mention that sentient spaceships aren't a new thing for me to read, but an alien race that are also spaceships? Yeah, that part was new - sort of like the Transformers but also not. Nadim, for his part, has a soft spot for humans, and unlike the Elders, he treats both Zara and Bea as friends, with a more deeper bond forming with Zara because of how she herself treats him like another person, instead of an unknowable alien. Their relationship grows slowly over the course of the book, with Zara feeling for him being abused by the Elders and feeling protective about him as much as he feels protective about his two Honors. It is an interesting romance that forms between them - particularly because one is actually living inside the other - but the book makes it work. Zara ends up being a perfect match of an Honor for Nadim, particularly because like him, she questions things. The two of them also have a close friendship with Bea, who is the sweetest musician doctor you'll find this side of the universe! Besides the well-built trio of relationships in the book, it also has a good pace and high stakes - the mystery of the Journey lurks in the background while their survival in the present, and the extent of the knowledge that the Leviathans have shared with the human race are at the forefront of the plot. There are tense scenes involving the Elders, some conspiracies, some alien fights, some near death catastrophes - and the crew has to fight through it all. It is a wonderful adventure to go through with these characters.
Your__Pen__Name More than 1 year ago
This is a phenomenal book. The ending made me yearning for more. I can't wait for Honor Bound!
JLAustin More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this interesting take on space travel. It is by no means the first to come up with sentient living space ships, but it was still a great story to read. The mind melding of the ship with the occupants was a little weird to get used to, but in the end I enjoyed it. This is a story with a black protagonist, which I enjoyed, but to my knowledge it is not an Own Voices book. The authors did an excellent job and appear to have qualified sensitivity readers, so there didn't appear to be anything problematic in nature that I (a white woman) noticed. I would still love to see more Own Voices books about marginalized characters though, even if this non-Own Voices was done well.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine & Ann Aguirre Book One of the Honors series Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: February 13, 2018 Rating: 4 stars Source: ARC sent by publicist Summary (from Goodreads): Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell. Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers. Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight. What I Liked: I was expecting to love this book, because it's science fiction, and I adore Rachel Caine's books, and I adore Ann Aguirre's books, and this book sounded really great in general. How awesome is it that these two powerhouse authors collaborated to create this story! Honor Among Thieves was thrilling, shocking, and nail-biting, and I am hooked and ready for more. This book starts with Zara Cole stealing a rich woman's purse, and some unintended consequences follow. She is hiding from the rich man who is the father of the woman from whom she stole, when she (Zara) is notified that she has been selected to be an Honor. An Honor is a person selected to board a sentient alien ship to explore the universe while working with the ship to help the ship learn more about humans. At first, Zara refuses, but what choice does she have? Becoming an Honor seems safer than waiting for Deluca to hunt her down. But she quickly finds out that being an Honor is infinitely more dangerous than it's made out to be. There is something sinister out in the universe, and Zara may find out about it the hard way. It took me some to get into this story - maybe the first hundred pages or so. But when Zara is ready to go on the Tour with the alien ship and another Honor (Bea), then I started to get more interested. The first couple of chapters are very necessary to the story, to get a peek into Zara's background and also her desperation to follow the safer path. Once Zara and Bea get started on the tour with the alien ship (Nadim), things start to pick up. This story relies a lot on secrets and hidden information that Zara is determined to find. The alien ships - called Leviathans - are very secretive and as much as Nadim wants to reveal information to Zara, he can't - not without punishment from the Elder Leviathan. So there is a lot that a reader won't know, because Zara won't know, up until the last few chapters. I was reading intently, trying my best not to peek at the ending (I didn't!), but I really wanted to know some of those secrets! The authors set up the reveals well and I didn't feel clueless or lost throughout the story (in terms of the "missing" information that we as readers and Zara are not privy to, until the end). Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)