Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs

Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs


2 New & Used Starting at $10.46


Although this Christmas compilation includes tracks by Katy Perry and Colbie Caillat, two hyper-marketable artists for the 2008 holiday season, the true appeal of Winter Songs is the spotlight it gives to emerging musicians. Nicole Atkins channels Roy Orbison's honeyed, vibrato-laden croon during "Blue Christmas," Ingrid Michaelson duets with Sarah Bareilles during the sparse "Winter Song," and Lenka reprises the bubbly sounds of her debut album (almost to saccharine effect) with an original song named "All My Bells Are Ringing." The biggest highlights arrive later in the set list, when Meiko sexily rasps her way through "Maybe Next Year (X-Mas Song)," perhaps the best original composition here, and Priscilla Ahn sings a gorgeous a cappella arrangement of "Silent Night." The latter song is the disc's crown jewel, a lush mixture of sustained notes and pitch-perfect intervals that emphasize Winter Songs' true focus: the talents of the Hotel Café's alumni, not the cheap appeal of someone like Katy Perry, whose wannabe jazz interpretation of "White Christmas" is as vanilla as the songtitle suggests.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/14/2008
Label: Epic
UPC: 0886973611128
catalogNumber: 736111

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kevin Salem   Bass,Guitar
Joseph Conlan   Brass
Tim Jones   Vocals
Butch Walker   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals
Simon Davis   Musician
Alex Elena   Drums
Jonah Matranga   Vocals
Fiona Apple   Vocals
Oliver Kraus   Cello
Ryan MacMillan   Percussion,Drums
Darren Dodd   Drums
Ed Maxwell   Bass
Rich Mercurio   Percussion,Drums
Matt Beck   Electric Guitar,Electric Piano,Ukulele
Brandi Carlile   Vocals
KT Tunstall   Vocals
Brad Gordon   Piano
Jim Bianco   Vocals
Catherine Feeny   Vocals
Katie Herzig   Vocals
Sebastian Rogers   Wurlitzer
Kate Havnevik   Vocals
Sara Bareilles   Piano,Vocals
Alice Smith   Vocals,Background Vocals
Joshua Radin   Vocals
Greg Laswell   Vocals
Jon Neufeld   Guitar
Anya Marina   Vocals
Ingrid Michaelson   Glockenspiel,Ukulele,Vocals
Priscilla Ahn   Vocals
Stewart Cole   Trumpet
Topher Mohr   Guitar
Colbie Caillat   Vocals
Holly Conlan   Piano,Chimes,Glockenspiel,Vocals,fender rhodes
Jesca Hoop   Vocals
Marié Digby   Vocals
Katy Perry   Vocals
Sgro   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Laura Jansen   Vocals

Technical Credits

Leroy Anderson   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Kevin Salem   Producer,Engineer
Jon Brion   Producer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Walter Kent   Composer
Jay Livingston   Composer
Richard Morris   Producer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Butch Walker   Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
John Alagia   Producer
Alex Elena   Producer
Luke Bullen   Producer
Jack Rollins   Composer
Darrell Thorp   Engineer
Scott Greer   Executive Producer
Vaughan Merrick   Engineer
Claudius Mittendorfer   Vocal Engineer
Tom Biller   Engineer
Brandi Carlile   Composer,Producer
KT Tunstall   Producer
Steve Nelson   Composer
Brad Gordon   Instrumentation
Mikal Blue   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Sebastian Rogers   Producer
Kate Havnevik   Vocal Arrangements
Sara Bareilles   Composer
Alice Smith   Arranger
Ingrid Michaelson   Composer
Priscilla Ahn   Arranger,Producer
Phil Hanseroth   Composer
Colbie Caillat   Composer
Holly Conlan   Producer
Sheri Lee   Art Direction
Meiko   Composer
Sgro   Producer,Engineer
Jonathan Plum   Engineer
Gisli Kristjansson   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago