Hunter [Bonus Tracks]

Hunter [Bonus Tracks]

by Morgan JamesMorgan James


$10.61 $10.99 Save 3% Current price is $10.61, Original price is $10.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The sophomore album from Morgan James, 2014's Hunter, features the Broadway vocalist's mix of retro-R&B and '70s-influenced singer/songwriter soul. Ostensibly James' debut album, Hunter actually follows up her 2012 Nina Simone tribute concert recording, Morgan James Live from Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola. That said, Hunter is James' first recording of all-original material and, in that sense, a much more personal statement than her live debut. Produced by jazz and bluegrass guitarist Doug Wamble, Hunter finds James delving deeply into a collection of tunes that, while not show tunes in any sense, still make clever use of her stage-honed chops. It also doesn't hurt that Wamble, an experienced musician with a wealth of musical skill and cross-genre knowledge, has assembled a backing band that features a bevy of heavyweight jazz artists, including acclaimed pianist Robert Glasper, saxophonist Ron Blake, trumpeter Ravi Best, and others. However, rather than having James focus on jazz standards or even jazz-influenced pop songs, Wamble helped the vocalist craft an R&B-inflected album that brings to mind classic artists like Carole King and Hall & Oates as well as more contemporary singers including Beyoncé and the late Amy Winehouse. James, who made her Broadway debut in 2010 alongside Nathan Lane in The Addams Family, has a big, resonant voice with a ton of flexibility, perfectly suited for such crisp, soulful cuts as "Heart Shake" and "Bring Yourself to Me." Elsewhere, she delves into several equally compelling bluesy midtempo numbers, including "You Never Lied" and "Drown." Ultimately, it's that voice -- matched with Wamble's superb musical vision -- that creates the soulful, exuberant vibe of Hunter. [Hunter was also released with three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2014
Label: Epic
UPC: 0888750183521
catalogNumber: 501835
Rank: 66558

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Morgan James   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Ron Blake   Saxophone
Tony Mason   Percussion,Drums
Ron McBee   Percussion
Mocean Worker   Synthesizer,Loops
Mark McLean   Drums
Ravi Best   Trumpet
Doug Wamble   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Keyboards,Loops
Robert Glasper   Piano
Damien Bassman   Chart
Ryan Gruss   Drums,Loops
Ty Real   Horn Engineer
Jeff Hanley   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Roy Dunlap   Organ,Piano,Electric Piano,Wurlitzer
Chase Baird   Saxophone
Celisse Henderson   Percussion
Mike Fahie   Trombone
Will Van Dyke   Chart
James Hartnett   Horn Engineer
Alphonso Horne   Trumpet
Jamble   Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Prince   Composer
Bruce Springsteen   Composer
Daryl Hall   Composer
John Oates   Composer
Andy Taub   Engineer
Mocean Worker   Producer,drum programming
Doug Wamble   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,drum programming,Vocal Producer
Robert Glasper   Composer,Producer
David Stoller   Engineer
Ryan Gruss   Programming,Drum Engineering
Ty Real   Engineer
Maria P. Marulanda   Art Direction
Brian "DJ Frequency" Fryzel   Composer
Morgan James   Arranger,Composer,Vocal Producer
James Hartnett   Engineer
Frequency   Producer,drum programming
Robert Clyde Hargrove   Composer
Catherine Ansley Hughes   Composer
Benoit Holliger   Engineer
Lauren Ceradini   Publicity
Scott Carter   Marketing

Customer Reviews