I Put a Spell on You [LP]

I Put a Spell on You [LP]

by Nina SimoneNina Simone

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions


One of her most pop-oriented albums, but also one of her best and most consistent. Most of the songs feature dramatic, swinging large-band orchestration, with the accent on the brass and strings. Simone didn't write any of the material, turning to popular European songsmiths Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, and Anthony Newley, as well as her husband, Andy Stroud, and her guitarist, Rudy Stevenson, for bluesier fare. There are really fine tunes and interpretations, on which Simone gives an edge to the potentially fey pop songs, taking a sudden (but not uncharacteristic) break for a straight jazz instrumental with "Blues on Purpose." The title track, a jazzy string ballad version of the Screamin' Jay Hawkins classic, gave the Beatles the inspiration for the phrasing on the bridge of "Michelle." [I Put a Spell on You was re-released on LP in 2016.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2016
Label: Verve
UPC: 0600753605707
catalogNumber: 5360570


  1. I Put a Spell on You
  2. Tomorrow Is My Turn
  3. Ne Me Quitte Pas
  4. Marriage Is for Old Folks
  5. July Tree
  6. Gimme Some
  7. Feeling Good
  8. One September Day
  9. Blues on Purpose
  10. Beautiful Land
  11. You've Got to Learn
  12. Take Care of Business

Album Credits

Customer Reviews