by No DoubtNo Doubt


$8.05 $8.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.05, Original price is $8.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


No Doubt's 2010 installment in Universal's ongoing Icon series is a retitled reissue of the excellent 2003 compilation The Singles 1992-2003. Spanning 15 tracks, the disc is sequenced like a concert, favoring forward momentum over chronological history, and that's a point in its favor since it shines a spotlight on individual songs, not eras. More than anything, this highlights No Doubt's consistency as a singles band, since the defining breakthrough single, "Just a Girl," is as exciting as both the band's pre-fame "Trapped in a Box" and the sexy neo-electro grind of "Hella Good." It also shows that even if lead singer Gwen Stefani grew increasingly assured and sexier over the years (compare the seductive "Underneath It All" to the breathy, naïve "Don't Speak") and even if she was always rightly the focal point, the band itself is a muscular, versatile, tuneful outfit, rooted in ska revivals like "Spiderwebs" but equally convincing when turning out spiky pop like the glorious "New," the hard-rocking "Sunday Morning" and "Ex-Girlfriend," the sighing ballad "Simple Kind of Life," or the rubbery, reggae-inflected "Hey Baby." All these hits are here on Icon, along with expertly selected album tracks and concert favorites, plus a fine cover of Talk Talk's "It's My Life" that makes the group's new wave influences explicit. There's not one major song missing, and the whole package is solid proof that few post-alternative bands were as joyous a singles band as No Doubt. It's a great collection -- the kind of compilation that satisfies fans of all stripes and converts skeptics. It's the greatest-hits package that they deserve.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/2010
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602527472522
catalogNumber: 001468602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

No Doubt   Primary Artist
Matthew Wilder   Keyboards
Stephen Bradley   Trumpet
Melissa "Missy" Hasin   Cello
Stephen Perkins   Steel Drums
Alex Henderson   Trombone
Eric Stefani   Piano,Keyboards
Tom Dumont   Guitar,Keyboards
Gabrial McNair   Synthesizer,Piano,Trombone,Keyboards,Mellotron
Gwen Stefani   Vocals
Adrian Young   Percussion,Drums
Tony Kanal   Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Saxophone
Don Hammerstedt   Trumpet
Phil Jordan   Trumpet
Andy Potts   Saxophone
Django Stewart   Saxophone
Eric Carpenter   Saxophone
Eric Carpenter   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Brian Jobson   Executive Producer
Jerry Harrison   Producer
Matthew Wilder   Producer
No Doubt   Producer
Sly & Robbie   Producer
Glen Ballard   Producer
Scott Campbell   Engineer
Karl Derfler   Engineer
Sly Dunbar   Programming
Matt Hyde   Engineer
Wayne Jobson   Executive Producer
Alain Johannes   Engineer
Phil Kaffel   Engineer
George Landress   Engineer
Philip Steir   Programming,Additional Production
Mark "Spike" Stent   Additional Production
Dito Godwin   Producer
Simon Gogerly   Engineer
Michael Carnevale   Engineer
Sean Beavan   Sonic Manipulation
Bryan Carrigan   Engineer
Eric Stefani   Composer
Tom Dumont   Programming,Engineer
Gabrial McNair   Horn Arrangements
Gwen Stefani   Composer
Tony Kanal   Programming,Engineer
Rory Baker   Engineer
Greg Collins   Engineer
Ned Douglas   Programming
Jolie Clemens   Art Direction
Fabien Waltman   Programming
Tkae Mendez   Engineer
Stuart Price   Programming
Stephanie Hsu   Photo Coordination
Dan Chase   Engineer
Nelle Hooper   Producer

Customer Reviews