Idlewild South

Idlewild South

by The Allman Brothers BandThe Allman Brothers Band


View All Available Formats & Editions


If you're going to listen to the Allman Brothers, make sure you have the first four records. The band made The Allman Brothers Band, Idlewild South, At Fillmore East, and three-fourths of Eat a Peach with its original lineup, before Duane Allman's fatal motorcycle accident in 1971. The Tom Dowd-produced Idlewild South, their second album, comes off with a little less ferocity than their debut -- which is perhaps the result of reaching for new sounds the second time around. "Revival," the album's opener, introduces Dickey Betts as a composer. The countrified flavor of his songs gives an indication of where the band will head in the post-Duane era. Betts' other contribution to Idlewild South is the instrumental "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed," a centerpiece of the Fillmore East recordings. Gregg's "Please Call Home" and "Midnight Rider" are built around piano and acoustic guitar, respectively, and have a different feel than the band's usual twin Les Paul-and-Hammond sound. That sound is showcased in the balance of Gregg's tunes, however: the funky blues of "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'" (with Thom Doucette on harmonica) and "Leave My Blues at Home." The album is also notable for the rollicking version of Willie Dixon's "Hoochie Coochie Man," with the only vocal bassist Berry Oakley (who died in a motorcycle accident one year after Duane) ever recorded with the group. Though overall it packs less punch than The Allman Brothers Band, Idlewild South is all the more impressive for its mixture of chunky grooves and sophisticated textures.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/04/2015
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602547346056
catalogNumber: 002328902

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Allman Brothers Band   Primary Artist
Gregg Allman   Piano,Hammond Organ,Group Member
Dickey Betts   Guitar,Group Member
Duane Allman   Acoustic Guitar,Slide Guitar,Group Member
Thom Doucette   Harmonica,Percussion,Group Member
Berry Oakley   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Butch Trucks   Drums,Timpani,Group Member
Jai Johanny Johanson   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Timbales,Group Member

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Gregg Allman   Composer
Dickey Betts   Composer
Howard Albert   Engineer
Ron Albert   Engineer
Joel Dorn   Producer
Tom Dowd   Producer
Jim Hawkins   Engineer
Bob Liftin   Engineer
Phil Walden   Arranger
Vartan   Art Direction
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Andrew Skurow   Tape Research
Twiggs Lyndon   Tray Photo,Back Cover Photo
Robert Kim Payne   Composer

Customer Reviews