The Very Best of Idolize Yourself

The Very Best of Idolize Yourself

by Billy IdolBilly Idol


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Hard to believe, but Capitol's 2008 collection Idolize Yourself: The Very Best of Billy Idol is only the second Billy Idol hits album to be released in America, following the first -- 2001's Greatest Hits -- by just seven years. Greatest Hits weighed in at 16 tracks and Idolize Yourself spans 18, adding two OK new songs to the mix (the moody "John Wayne" and the ham-fisted "New Future Weapon"), swapping out a live acoustic "Rebel Yell" and a cover of Simple Minds' "Don't You (Forget About Me)" for the latter-day cuts "Speed" and "World Comin' Down," but otherwise this is built upon the same core 14 hits as Greatest Hits. This means that either compilation would serve the needs of most Idol fans well, but Idolize Yourself gets the edge, as the latter-day songs are just a bit better and it's also available in a deluxe edition with a DVD containing almost all of Billy Idol's music videos (two, "Hot in the City" and "Cradle of Love," are present in previously unreleased alternate cuts), which are essential to truly appreciating an artist whose fame was built in large part on his videos.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
Label: Capitol
UPC: 5099921514029
catalogNumber: 15140
Rank: 18026

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billy Idol   Primary Artist,Vocals
Steve Stevens   Guitar
Brian Tichy   Bass,Drums
Derek Sherinian   Keyboards

Technical Credits

William Bell   Composer
Billy Idol   Composer,Producer
Steve Stevens   Composer,Producer
Jim Morrison   Composer
Keith Forsey   Producer
Ray Manzarek   Composer
David Werner   Composer
John Densmore   Composer
Bobby Bloom   Composer
Ritchie Cordell   Composer
Robin Hancock   Producer
Tony James   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Ralph Sall   Producer
David Wild   Liner Notes
Mark Younger-Smith   Composer
Brian Tichy   Composer
Derek Sherinian   Composer
Tommy James   Composer
Ryan Williams   Engineer
Josh Abraham   Producer
Shepard Fairey   Art Direction
Tony Dimitriades   Management
Bo Gentry   Composer
Robert Richards   Management
Robby Krieger   Composer

Customer Reviews