Ill Communication

Ill Communication

by Beastie BoysBeastie Boys


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 3


Ill Communication follows the blueprint of Check Your Head, accentuating it at some points, deepening it in others, but never expanding it beyond the boundaries of that record. As such, it's the first Beastie Boys album not to delve into new territory, but it's not fair to say that it finds the band coasting, since much of the album finds the group turning in muscular, vigorous music that fills out the black-and-white sketches that comprised Check Your Head. Much of the credit has to go to the group's renewed confidence in -- or at least renewed emphasis on -- their rhyming; there are still instrumentals (arguably, there are too many instrumentals), but the Beasties do push their words to the forefront, even on dense rockers like the album's signature tune, "Sabotage." But even those rhymes illustrate that the group is in the process of a great settling, relying more on old-school-styled rhyme schemes and word battles than the narratives and surreal fantasies that marked the high points on their first two albums. With this record, the Beasties confirm that there is indeed a signature Beastie Boys aesthetic (it's too far-ranging and restless to be pegged as a signature sound), with the group sticking to a blend of old school rap, pop culture, lo-fi funk, soulful jazz instrumentals, Latin rhythms, and punk, often seamlessly integrated into a rolling, pan-cultural, multi-cultural groove. The best moments of Ill Communication rank with the best music the Beasties have ever made, as well as the best pop music of the '90s, but unfortunately, it's uneven and rather front-loaded. The first half overflows with brilliant, imaginative variations on their aesthetic: the assured groove of "Sure Shot," the warped rap of "B-Boys Makin' With the Freak Freak," the relentless dirty funk of "Root Down," the monumental "Sabotage," and the sly "Get It Together," highlighted by a cameo from Q-Tip of A Tribe Called Quest. After that, the album seems to lose its sense of direction and momentum, even if individual moments are very good. Any record that can claim jams as funky and inventive as "Flute Loop" and "Do It," or instrumentals as breezy as "Ricky's Theme," is certainly better than its competition, but there are just enough moments that rank as obvious filler to slow its flow, and to keep it from standing proudly next to Check Your Head as a wholly successful record. Even if it is a little uneven, it still boasts more than its fair share of splendid, transcendent music, and it really only pales in comparison to the Beasties' trio of classic records. By any other measure, this is a near-masterpiece, and it is surely a highlight of '90s alternative pop

Product Details

Release Date: 05/31/1994
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724382859925
catalogNumber: 28599
Rank: 15441


  1. Sure Shot
  2. Tough Guy
  3. B-Boys Makin' With the Freak Freak
  4. Bobo on the Corner
  5. Root Down
  6. Sabotage
  7. Get It Together
  8. Sabrosa
  9. The Update
  10. Futterman's Rule
  11. Alright Hear This
  12. Eugene's Lament
  13. Flute Loop
  14. Do It
  15. Ricky's Theme
  16. Heart Attack Man
  17. The Scoop
  18. Shambala
  19. Bodhisattva Vow
  20. Transitions

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Ill Communication 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Probably the best Beastie Boys album, "Ill Communication" is the sequel to the 1992 "Check Your Head", which was released 3 years after the overlooked "Paul's Boutique". Released in 1994, "Ill Communication" came out at the tail end of the Old School period of rap. But "Ill Communication" has a deepness to it beyond most of the old school hip hop released between 1980 and 1994. At first listen the album seems front-loaded, and to a certain extent it is: near the beginning is the blockbuster hit "Sabotage" and the first half of the album also features the bodacious "B-Boys Makin' With A Freak Freak" and "Root Down". The best song, without a doubt on the album is "Get It Together", featuring A Tribe Called Quest rapper Q-Tip. The latter half of the album, however, has classics like "Flute Loop" and many boundary-pushing instrumentals. The only flaws with the album is the fact that "Heart Attack Man", while funny is inescapably a ripoff of "Tough Guy", and that sometimes the rap is too muffled and overpowered by beats. The good, of course, far outshines these small blemishes. On a side note: Beasties are NOT alternative rock. All of their albums, not just Licensed to Ill, are legit hip hop.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Title says it all...This one had all the funky beats/flute loops/and crazy rappin to go along with them. Absolutely fantastic to listen to on a HI-FI stereo system. Need a tight subwoofer to enjoy the subtleties of the bass lines.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago