I'm a Fire

I'm a Fire

by David NailDavid Nail


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Always on the verge of a breakthrough success, David Nail swings for the fences on 2014's I'm a Fire, his third full-length album. Nail's gifts suggest he's a blue-collar patriot, a working man happy to churn out anthems for the unsung, but he's a bit more subtle than that, identifying exceptional songwriters and never succumbing to the good-time bro-country that is a golden ticket to the top of the charts. His attraction to Shane McAnally songs is a strong evidence of the former -- he cuts two of the hot songwriter's tunes, "Burnin' Bed," which also bears a co-credit by Brandy Clark, plus "Brand New Day" -- but he also spots a sleek little crossover number in "Kiss You Tonight," an adult contemporary tune co-written by American Idol finalist David Cook. Nail's gift is how he avoids bombast -- some of these songs could be delivered with a sledgehammer but the singer chooses to relax and that light touch resonates -- and he makes his connection to the country-pop past explicit through a cover of Jimmy Webb's "Galveston," popularized by Glen Campbell. Nail never seems as casual as Campbell -- he seems to measure every word -- but he nevertheless prefers to undersell his material, which makes I'm a Fire insinuating, not insistent. It may not deliver a knockout punch but it's not intended to be powerful; it's a grower, sounding better with repeated exposure, repeated listens revealing the craft in the songs and the subtlety in Nail's execution.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2014
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602537577422
catalogNumber: 001940302
Rank: 115590

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Nail   Primary Artist
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Eric Darken   Percussion
Matt Chamberlain   Percussion,Drums
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
George Marinelli   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Chris McHugh   Percussion,Drums
Jerry McPherson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Gene Miller   Background Vocals
Mike Rojas   Piano,Hammond B3
Glenn Worf   Bass
Neil Thrasher   Background Vocals
Micah Wilshire   Background Vocals
Lee Ann Womack   Background Vocals
Jeff Roach   Keyboards
Little Big Town   Background Vocals
Karen Fairchild   Background Vocals
Jimi Westbrook   Background Vocals
Jaren Johnston   Background Vocals
Sarah Buxton   Background Vocals
Phillip Sweet   Background Vocals
Jonathan Singleton   Background Vocals
Kimberly Roads   Background Vocals
Chris Rodriguez   Background Vocals
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Aubrie Sellers   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Bob DiPiero   Composer
Trent Summar   Composer
Glenn Worf   Producer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Chuck Ainlay   Producer,Engineer
Michael Dulaney   Composer
Frank Liddell   Producer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Jay Knowles   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
David Nail   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Lee Thomas Miller   Composer
Jonathan Singleton   Composer
David Cook   Composer
Tom Douglas   Composer
Jimmy Robbins   Composer
Scooter Carusoe   Composer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Jimmy L. Webb   Composer
Brett Eldredge   Composer
Brandon Schexnayder   Engineer
Jon Nite   Composer

Customer Reviews