I'm Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass

I'm Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass

by Yo La TengoYo La Tengo


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Three years after the breezy and sunny but ultimately homogeneous Summer Sun, Yo La Tengo rebound with the most diverse and comprehensive album of their long and storied career. I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass contains everything that one could want from a Yo La Tengo album -- epic feedback freakouts, introspective ballads, bouncy R&B, jangly garage rock, hypnotic soundscapes -- along with some adventurous new twists (something else we have come to expect from Yo La Tengo throughout their 22-year career). Sprawling through 15 tracks and pushing 80 minutes, I Am Not Afraid of You uses more piano and horns than previous YLT albums: Check the jazzy, falsetto "Sometimes I Don't Get You" and the chamber pop orchestration of "Black Flowers." Somehow the Hoboken, New Jersey, trio of Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley, and James McNew manage to make their eclecticism flow coherently, whether it's an 11-minute Kaplan guitar excursion ("Pass the Hatchet, I Think I'm Goodkind"); a toe-tapping horn-and-piano ditty ("Beanbag Chair"); a lovely Hubley ballad laced with violin ("I Feel Like Going Home"); or a seriously fun soul homage, complete with Stax/Volt-style horns ("Mr. Tough") -- and those are just the album's first four songs. Yo La Tengo are the quintessential indie-rock band, and I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass is quintessential Yo La Tengo.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2006
Label: Matador Records
UPC: 0744861069225
catalogNumber: 10692
Rank: 66977

Album Credits

Customer Reviews