In the Name of Love [Kalimba]

In the Name of Love [Kalimba]


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Earth, Wind & Fire's return to Warner Bros. with 1993's Millennium proved to be short-lived -- the album failed to meet the company's expectations commercially. Four years later, EWF ended up on the independent Miami-based Pyramid label with the surprisingly retro In the Name of Love. More personnel changes had taken place, but thankfully, Maurice and Verdine White and Philip Bailey were still onboard for what was EWF's most live-sounding, least high-tech offering since 1983's Powerlight. (However, EWF had been touring without Maurice since 1994). Live horns and real instruments abound, and everything from the ballads "Cruising," "When Love Goes Wrong" and "Right Time," to the punchy funk ditty "Rock It" sounds like it could have been recorded in the '70s. One very pleasant surprise is a remake of "Love of Life," which the pre-Bailey EWF embraced on its self-titled debut album of 1971. Bailey's son, Sir James Bailey, raps on the sociopolitical "Revolution," but on the whole, this excellent CD is unapologetically retro. [Reissued, strangely in 2006, Earth, Wind & Fire's In the Name of Love appears on Maurice White's Kalimba Records, and is essentially the same recording as the 1997 version released on Rhino (without the groovy cover). That said, inexplicably, the tracks are in different order from the original, and contain a pair of newly recorded bonus tracks, "Change Your Mind," (the radio single that works like prime EWF) and the lesser, throwaway demo of a jazz intro, "Bahia."] ~ Alex Henderson and Thom Jurek

Product Details

Release Date: 10/03/2006
Label: Imports
UPC: 0686097337825
catalogNumber: 7337825
Rank: 53039

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Earth, Wind & Fire   Primary Artist
Philip Bailey   Vocals
Maurice White   Vocals
Ray Brown   Trumpet
Sonny Emory   Drums
Scott Mayo   Saxophone
Morris Pleasure   Keyboards
Verdine White   Bass
Sheldon M. Reynolds   Guitar,Vocals
Reggie C. Young   Trombone
Ralph Boyd Johnson   Percussion,Vocals

Technical Credits

Philip Bailey   Composer
Brenda Russell   Composer
Maurice White   Composer,Producer
Bill Meyers   Composer
Wade Flemons   Composer
Jerry Jordan   Engineer
Melanie Andrews   Composer
James Bailey   Composer
Marcel East   Composer
Sonny Emory   Composer
Ralph Hawkins   Composer
Paul Klingberg   Engineer,Remixing
Scott Mayo   Composer
Don Murray   Engineer
Morris Pleasure   Composer
Sheldon Reynolds   Composer
Wil Wheaton   Composer
Verdine White   Composer
Don Whitehead   Composer
Andrew Klippel   Composer
Paul Minor   Composer
Roxanne Seeman   Composer
Betty Reynolds   Composer
Damian Johnson   Composer
K.C. Blinn   Art Direction
Don Murry   Engineer

Customer Reviews