Into the West: The Orphan Train

Into the West: The Orphan Train

Paperback(Re-edited with additional material added)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Territories Saga Serials Collection

Introducing a new serial book collection, The Territories Saga Serials. The concept is based on the old "cliffhanger" movie serial shorts that were popular in the first half of the twentieth century. Theaters would play short films, many of which were westerns, before the main feature.

Each book is written as an installment in a serial collection. Each saga serial is divided into 5-6 novellas. When the saga is complete, a single volume containing all the serial's novellas plus bonus material will be published. Titles are also currently available in paperback and ebooks.

Into the West: The Orphan Train

Part One of Book One in The Territories Saga Serials

Margret MacBride loves her children more than life itself, but as a young widow she isn't able to support her and her children on a scullery maid's salary. After being evicted from their apartment, they struggle for years to survive while living on the streets of New York City. Distraught, Margret turns to her church for guidance.

Sister Mary Agnus convinces Margret her children will be better off if she turns them over to the Catholic Foundling Aid Society under the care of their aid worker, Mrs. Kelly, for placement in a new home. Little did she know her children would end up on The Orphan Train heading into the Wild West.

Taken from the only home they have ever known, Elizabeth and Conner MacBride are frightened and homesick. When Elizabeth finds herself in trouble after a run in with the foundlings home's director, Sister Mary Clare, and bullied by one of the other children, Mrs. Kelly puts her job on the line to get Elizabeth and her brother on The Orphan Train and find them a new home in the wild western territories.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538073186
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 07/21/2016
Series: Into the West Saga Serial , #1
Edition description: Re-edited with additional material added
Pages: 180
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.38(d)

About the Author

Stephen Burckhardt was born in and raised in and around Wichita, KS. As a child, Stephen lived for a while on a ranch near Benton, KS. This is where Stephen developed a deep love for all things western. Being a proud member of the Cherokee nation only deepened his interest in history, animals, and native traditions.

After earning a degree in journalism from Wichita State University, Stephen spent years writing for various publications and eventually worked as a ghostwriter. One of his early assignments was writing a western for Luis Antwoord titled, Western: In the Company of Thieves. It was after this project, Stephen developed an insatiable desire to continue writing westerns under his own name.

To reach a wider market, Stephen decided to write his books as serial novellas instead of full novels. Each saga is divided into 5-6 novellas. When the saga is complete, all novellas will be released in a single volume collection with bonus material. The prices for the collection volumes will vary depending on the number of novellas included.

Stephen also holds a degree in forensic criminology and has studied business at Wichita State University. He was working on a third degree in nutrition when his life took a turn he never saw coming.

In 2013, Stephen met and married the love of his life, P.R. Burckhardt, whom he truly considers to be his “better half.” The couple was married at The Old Cowtown Museum in Wichita, KS. They currently live with their rescue dog, Shaggy.

Customer Reviews