It Ain't Right

It Ain't Right

by Jimmy BurnsJimmy Burns


$16.42 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.42, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It Ain't Right is Jimmy Burns' first studio set in a long time -- 12 years, to be precise, a belated sequel to 2003's Back to the Delta. It Ain't Right doesn't make any pretenses about returning to Burns' Mississippi roots but rather settles into a wonderfully textured soulful groove, something relaxed and elastic, a sound that gives plenty of space to both his clean, hopping guitar and robust vocals. Although the album is devoid of originals, he manages to spin songs by Bobby Rush, Jimmy Reed, Percy Mayfield, Little Walter, and Lowman Pauling toward his soulful style, even finding a way to turn Ben E. King's "Stand by Me" into a bit of an uptempo groover. Not everything here is sprightly, not by a long shot, but the things that stick recall the easy elegance of Sam Cooke, whether it's on the deceptively chipper "Will I Ever Find Somebody?" or the churchy closer "Wade in the Water," and they help turn It Ain't Right into something of a relaxed, heartfelt celebration.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2015
Label: Delmark
UPC: 0038153084127
catalogNumber: 841
Rank: 92131

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jimmy Burns   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Anthony Palmer   Guitar
Dick Shurman   Completion
Roosevelt Purifoy   Organ
Greg McDaniel   Bass
Aaron Getsug   Baritone Saxophone
Marques Carroll   Trumpet
Ariyo Sumito Ariyoshi   Piano
Chris Neal   Tenor Saxophone
Bryant "T" Parker   Drums,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Percy Mayfield   Composer
Jimmy Reed   Composer
Ben E. King   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Bobby Rush   Composer
Goree Carter   Composer
Jeff Griffin   Cover Photo
Robert G. Koester   Producer
P.D.   Composer
Dick Shurman   Producer,Liner Notes
Mike Stoller   Composer
Lowman Pauling   Composer
Ewart Abner   Composer
Jimmy Burns   Liner Notes
Walter Jacobs   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Billy Flynn   Composer
Larry O. Williams   Composer
Melvin R. London   Composer
Debra Lewis   Liner Notes
Marques Carroll   Horn Arrangements
Eddie Burns   Composer
John A. Cameron   Composer

Customer Reviews