Jasper County [Bonus Track]

Jasper County [Bonus Track]

by Trisha Yearwood


After a self-imposed sabbatical, Trisha Yearwood, one of contemporary country's greatest interpretive singers, returns with Jasper County, which concedes nothing to the pop incursion into mainstream country. Yearwood and producer Garth Fundis keep it close to the earth, with fiddles, dobros, pedal steel, and acoustic guitars plentiful amid keyboards, electric guitars, propulsive drums, and even some nicely arranged strings. The ballads are killer fare -- "Trying to Love You," an acoustic-based heartbreaker that sounds torn from personal experience in a Rosanne Cash mode, is a marvel of shifting emotional textures conveyed vocally and enhanced by a spare arrangement. The album's first hit single, "Georgia Rain" -- a bittersweet memoir of a long-lost love, spurred by a homecoming -- juxtaposes somber verses against surging, keyboard- and pedal steel-rich choruses as Yearwood alternately croons and belts out the piercing narrative. In a bit of a new wrinkle, Yearwood cuts loose and gives full expression to her natural feel for country blues of the funky kind. "Baby Don't Let Go" rocks with a robust rhythm, a sputtering harmonica, and stinging acoustic licks, and Yearwood rides it for all it's worth. Even more impressive, she gives Bobbie Gentry a run for her sultry money in "Sweet Love" with a swaggering vocal punctuated by some orgasmic high notes and seductive spoken asides, as some slinky slide lines and a jittery acoustic guitar solo lend the enterprise a thick Delta ambiance. Trisha Yearwood has never been better, and that's saying something.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/07/2006
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602498504369
catalogNumber: 000620202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Trisha Yearwood   Primary Artist,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Garth Brooks   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Sam Bush   Mandolin
Beth Nielsen Chapman   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jim Lauderdale   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Anderson   Electric Guitar
Matt Rollings   Piano
Bobby Wood   Keyboards
Eric Darken   Percussion,Shaker
Bob Bailey   Background Vocals
David Angell   Violin
Richard Bennett   Acoustic Guitar
Bruce Bouton   Steel Guitar
Bekka Bramlett   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Mark Casstevens   Acoustic Guitar
Steve Cox   Organ
Chad Cromwell   Drums,Stick
Dan Dugmore   Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Garth Fundis   Track Performer
Ronnie Dunn   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Connie Ellisor   Violin
Kim Fleming   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Carl Gorodetzky   Violin
Jim Grosjean   Viola
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
John Hobbs   Organ,Piano
Jeff Jorgenson   Electric Guitar
Anthony LaMarchina   Cello
Chris Leuzinger   Electric Guitar,Gut String Guitar
Mac McAnally   Acoustic Guitar
Terry McMillan   Harmonica
Greg Morrow   Drums
Nashville String Machine   Strings,Track Performer
Steve Nathan   Piano
Michael Rhodes   Bass,Bass Guitar
Maia Sharp   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Pamela Sixfin   Violin
Milton Sledge   Drums
Alan Umstead   Violin
Catherine Umstead   Violin
Gary VanOsdale   Viola
Mary Kathryn Van Osdale   Violin
Wanda Vick   Dobro,Fiddle
Kris Wilkinson   Viola
Reese Wynans   Organ,Piano
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle,Mandolin
Jon Randall   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Scott Paschall   Track Performer
Monisa Angell   Viola
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Slide Guitar,Mandocello,Guitar (Baritone)
Johnny Garcia   Electric Guitar
Leslie Satcher   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Tom Bukovac   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Carole Rabinowitz-Neuen   Cello
Anthony Smith   Background Vocals
Hillary Lindsey   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jessi Alexander   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Kurt Riles   Acoustic Guitar
Jon Jorgenson   Electric Guitar
Dave Davidson   Violin
Mike Chapman   Bass,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Beth Nielsen Chapman   Composer
Bill Lloyd   Composer
Jeff Balding   Engineer
Dennis Burnside   String Arrangements
Austin Cunningham   Composer
Garth Fundis   Producer,Audio Production
Wayne Kirkpatrick   Composer
Allen Reynolds   Producer,Audio Production
Maia Sharp   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
George Ducas   Composer
Mark Miller   Engineer
Virginia Team   Art Direction
Bobby Terry   Composer
Scott Paschall   Audio Production
Sonya Isaacs   Composer
Matt Andrews   Engineer
Karyn Rochelle   Composer
Leslie Satcher   Composer
Tia Sillers   Composer
Marvin Green   Composer
Luellyn Latocki   Art Direction
Ron Roark   Graphic Design
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Jessi Alexander   Composer
Chad Carlson   Engineer
Liz Rose   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews