by PleasurePleasure


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Pleasure couldn't have asked for a more appropriate producer when, in late 1976, it employed Wayne Henderson on Joyous. A band that frequently brought jazz overtones to its funk-soul foundation, Pleasure needed someone who held jazz and R&B in equally high regard -- and Henderson easily fit that description. The Texas trombonist first made a name for himself playing hard bop with the Jazz Crusaders, but as the 1970s progressed, he became increasingly R&B-friendly. Henderson was exactly the sort of producer that Pleasure needed, and the band's appreciation of jazz comes through on the up-tempo funk numbers (which include "Dance to the Music," "Let Me Be the One," and the title song) as well as the dreamy quiet storm gem "Sassafras Girl." Pleasure brings this vinyl LP to an appealing close with a jazz-funk instrumental titled "Selim," which isn't typical of Joyous on the whole -- most of the tunes are vocal-oriented. This is a funk-soul record first and foremost, and it is also a classic that underscores Pleasure's risk-taking nature.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2010
Label: Beat Goes Public Bgp
UPC: 0029667521123
catalogNumber: 6752112
Rank: 31738

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pleasure   Primary Artist
Dennis Springer   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Herman Riley   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Israel Baker   Violin
Bruce Carter   Drums
Dennis Christianson   Trumpet
Bonnie Douglas   Violin
Nathan Gershman   Cello
Pamela Goldsmith   Viola
Allan Harshman   Viola
Donald Hepburn   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Michael Hepburn   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Nathan Kaproff   Violin
Betty LaMagna   Violin
Janet Lakatos   Violin
Steve Madaio   Trumpet
Nathaniel Phillips   Bass,Background Vocals
Stanley Plummer   Violin
Nathan Ross   Violin
Paul Shure   Violin,Concert Master
Robert Sushel   Violin
Dorothy Wade   Violin
Sherman Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Alex Neimann   Viola
Marlon "The Magician" McClain   Guitar,Background Vocals
Armand Kaproff   Cello
Robert Carr   Baritone Saxophone
Bruce Smith   Conga,Tambourine,Background Vocals,Cuica,cowbell,Bell-tree,Flexatones
Mayo Tiano   Trombone

Technical Credits

Wayne Henderson   Producer
Donald Hepburn   Composer
Michael Hepburn   Composer
Nathaniel Phillips   Composer
Eddie Bill Harris   Engineer
Phil Carroll   Art Direction
Dan Brewster   Composer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Marlon "The Magician" McClain   Composer
Frank Clark   Engineer,Remixing
Bruce Smith   Composer,Lyricist

Customer Reviews