Juju Music

Juju Music

by King Sunny AdeKing Sunny Ade


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 8


After nearly 15 years as Nigeria's biggest musical draw and juju music's reigning monarch, King Sunny Ade went global in 1982 with a brief but fertile stint on the Mango label. The three albums that resulted -- Juju Music, Synchro System, and Aura -- gave Ade unprecedented exposure on the Western market and introduced a slew of music lovers to the sounds of Afro-pop. Juju Music was the first of Ade's Mango titles and remains the best of the lot. Over the course of seven extended cuts, King Sunny Ade & His African Beats lay down their trademark mix of talking drum-driven grooves, multi-guitar weaves, lilting vocal harmonies, and pedal steel accents; for this major-label debut, the band also chucks in some tasteful synthesizer bits and a few reggae-dub flourishes. Besides classic juju pop like "Ja Funmi" and "Ma Jaiye Oni," Ade and his 20-piece entourage serve up percussion breakdowns like "Sunny Ti de Ariya" and a heady blend of soul, dub, and synth noodlings on "365 Is My Number/The Message." Throughout, Ade deftly inserts Hawaiian slide guitar licks and Spanish-tinged lines reminiscent of Hendrix' "All Along the Watchtower." Juju Music should not only be the first-disc choice for Ade newcomers, but for the Afro-pop curious as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Fontana Island
UPC: 0016253971226
catalogNumber: 539712
Rank: 28158

Album Credits

Performance Credits

King Sunny Ade   Primary Artist,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Shina Abiodun   Conga
Mofes Acambi   Drums
Ademola Adepoju   Steel Guitar
Adisa Adeyemi   Bongos
Jacob Ajakaye   Vocals
Rasaki Aladokun   African Drums,talking drum
Gani Alashe   Shekere
Michael Babalola   Maracas
Tunde Demiola   Vocals
Niyi Falaye   Vocals
Jomoh Gbadamosi   African Drums,talking drum
Segun Hori   Guitar
Jelili Lawal   Bass
Segun Llori   Guitar
Martin Meissonnier   Keyboards
Bob Ohiri   Guitar
John Okeumeu   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Alhaji Timmy Olaitan   Drums,African Drums
Matthew Olojede   Vocals
Femi Owomoyela   Vocals
Segun Shokumbi   Vocals

Technical Credits

King Sunny Ade   Composer
Gani Alashe   Contributor
Martin Meissonnier   Producer
Katrin Lesevre   Engineer
Martin Meissonier   Producer

Customer Reviews