by ColdplayColdplay


View All Available Formats & Editions


Coldplay capitalize on the multicolored positivity of A Head Full of Dreams with Kaleidoscope, an EP that ties together all the threads left hanging by that sparkling 2015 album. Although Kaleidoscope is named after a Head Full of Dreams album track -- available here in a new, airy mix -- the key track is "Something Just Like This," the group's collaboration with the EDM duo Chainsmokers that became a huge hit in the first half of 2017. The version here, disingenuously dubbed "Tokyo Remix," may be live but its big laser beats tie Coldplay into a modern pop, one that easily slips between surface charms and subdued experimentalism. Thanks to their union with Brian Eno, Coldplay have always had a knack for treating sound as substance, and the producer is back here for "A L I E N S," a track that skitters and shakes more than its four companions yet still feels joyous, not ominous. Melancholy is only hinted at on "All I Can Think About Is You," but that's because it's fueled by a snaky, elastic bassline that overwhelms a muffled Chris Martin. It, like the rest of Kaleidoscope, leans into vibe over song, but that's also the appeal of the EP. Within these five tracks, Coldplay touch upon various contemporary trends in EDM, R&B, and rock without abandoning their identity, and thereby they are fleet and clever, not relics.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/2017
Label: Wb / Parlophone
UPC: 0190295793531
catalogNumber: 562562

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Coldplay   Primary Artist
Brian Eno   Guitar,Background Vocals
Phil Harvey   Group Member
Chris Martin   Group Member
Will Champion   Group Member
Guy Berryman   Group Member
Jonny Buckland   Group Member
John Metcalfe   Strings
Davide Rossi   Strings
Big Sean   Vocals

Technical Credits

Markus Dravs   Producer
Brian Eno   Composer,Producer
Rik Simpson   Producer
Chris Martin   Composer
Will Champion   Composer
Guy Berryman   Composer
Jonny Buckland   Composer
Daniel Green   Producer
Gregg Rominiecki   Engineer
Robin Baynton   Engineer
Tom Bailey   Engineer
Bill Rahko   Producer
Sean Anderson   Composer
Pilar Zeta   Artwork
Maximilian Jaeger   Engineer
Andrew Taggart   Composer
Aleks von Korff   Engineer

Customer Reviews