Kickin' & Screamin'

Kickin' & Screamin'

by Krizz KalikoKrizz Kaliko




Building on all the fun to be had on his 2010 effort, Shock Treatment, Kickin' & Screamin' finds Strange Music rapper Krizz Kaliko offering the sweet (club-worthy party tracks) along with sour (dark therapy sessions to thudding, rumbling beats), but this time, the musical genre wheel is spun and no matter where it lands, it's Kaliko time. Besides the dramatic, gloomy hip-hop you'd expect to find on a Strange Music release, there's also the sound of modern, "catch a wave" surf music ("Kali Baby") and the robotic stomp of dubstep ("Kill Shit," with special guest Twista plus label boss Tech N9ne), along with the polished, big-top R&B of T-Pain ("Dumb for You"). Later, it's dreamy "cloud" rap ("Created a Monster") and the Kanye-sized epic closer ("Stay Alive"), but it's not just the music underneath that's varied, as the nimble Krizz adjusts his style accordingly, sounding earnest and uplifting on the grand statement called "Wannabe" and going wonderfully dumb on the ridiculous word twister "Abu Dhabi." Diversity seems to be fueling the man at this point, and he certainly sounds wiser and more inspired than before, so it's a bit of a bummer that a four-song stretch of slow, insightful numbers are bunched at the end of the album, all crowded together when everything was previously wonderfully shuffled. Mix them back in, and Kickin' & Screamin' is a fan-pleasing/fan-challenging win plus a serious step up from last time out.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/15/2012
Label: Strange Music
UPC: 0853435003081
catalogNumber: 81

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Krizz Kaliko   Primary Artist
Todd Wilkinson   Saxophone
Twista   Vocals
Big Scoob   Vocals
Twiztid   Vocals
Tech N9ne   Vocals
Chamillionaire   Vocals
Kutt Calhoun   Vocals
Prozak   Vocals
T-Pain   Vocals
Wrekonize   Vocals
Rittz   Vocals
A-P   Vocals
Makzilla   Vocals
Crystal Watson   Vocals
Barbara Word   Vocals
Samuel Watson   Vocals
April Watson   Vocals
J. Richardson   Vocals
Brother K.T.   Vocals
Dana Dain   Vocals
Bernz   Vocals
John Bridgewater   Guitar
Jeremy Batton   Vocals
Jeannie Timpke   Vocals
Delynia Brown   Vocals
Austin Watson   Vocals
Welton LeJeune   Vocals
Scenario   Vocals
Ronnie Fells   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Robert Lieberman   Legal Counsel
Cory Nielsen   Director
Krizz Kaliko   Liner Notes
Richie Abbott   Publicity
Benjamin Miller   Composer
Faheem Najm   Composer
Michael "Seven" Summers   Composer,Producer
Bernardo Garcia   Composer
Brian Fraser   Composer
Crystal Watson   Composer
Stewart D. Ashby   Composer
Samuel Watson   Composer
Korey Lloyd   Publicity,Marketing,Merchandising
Hakeem Seriki   Composer
Ben Grossi   Marketing
Travis O'Guin   Executive Producer,Marketing
Brett Morrow   Marketing
Aaron Bean   Promoter
Chris Rooney   Marketing
Jamie Spaniolo   Composer
Liquid 9   Art Direction
Tramaine "Youngfyre" Winfrey   Composer,Producer
Carl Mitchell   Composer
Ben Cybulsky   Producer
Ryan Lindberg   Marketing
Jeff Nelson   Marketing
Jose Ramirez   Marketing
Braxton Flemming   Marketing
Mark Reifsteck   Booking
Penny Ervin   Merchandising
Bob McDowell   Marketing
Anthony Devera   Marketing
Steven T. Shippy   Composer
Melvin Calhoun   Composer
Manzilla Marquis Queen   Composer
Jared Coop   Merchandising
Grasher Johnson   Tour Manager
Paul Methric   Composer
Jonathan McColloum   Composer
Aaron Yates   Composer

Customer Reviews