by Khatia BuniatishviliKhatia Buniatishvili


$12.77 $12.99 Save 2% Current price is $12.77, Original price is $12.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Pianist Khatia Buniatishvili specialized mostly in virtuoso repertory in the early years of her tenure with the Sony Classical label, but she goes in a different direction with Labyrinth, a collection of mostly slow, reflective pieces from various periods and in various styles. The labyrinth involved might be a winding path through musical styles or through an individual soul. The program is of the sort that one shouldn't try to hard to pin down; Buniatishvili posted on social media (October 9, 2020) that "the voice you hear is the voice of a human being -- my voice, your voice," but it's quite evocative. Buniatishvili makes turns through Bach, jazz, Romantic music, contemporary pieces, including a large Philip Glass excerpt, and more. Yet for the most part, she maintains the sense of a thread connecting the pieces, although some may feel that the four-hands arrangement of the Badinerie from the Bach "Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067," where she teams with her sister, Gvantsa Buniatishvili, adds material that breaks the mood. The meditative quality reaches its peak, in a sense, with the inclusion of John Cage's "4'33" -- four minutes and 33 seconds of silence, wherein listeners are invited to contemplate their sonic environments as the time elapses. It's an unorthodox choice, especially on recordings, but its placement here is apt. Did she sit at the keyboard for the requisite time? Who can know? Sony's sound, from the Pierre Boulez Room in the Paris Philharmonie, is ideal. Fans of the fiery Buniatishvili will be intrigued by this new path from the pianist.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/11/2020
Label: Sony Masterworks
UPC: 0194397957723
catalogNumber: 19439795772
Rank: 2371


  1. Concerto for solo keyboard No. 3 in D minor, BWV 974 (BC L194) (after Alessandro Marcello): 2. Adagio
  2. 4'33", for any ensemble or number of players
  3. Consolation, for piano No. 3 in D flat major ("Lento placido"), S. 172/3 (LW A111a/2/2)
  4. Keyboard Sonata in D minor, K. 32 (L. 423)
  5. The Hours, music from the film score for piano: I'm Going to Make a Cake
  6. Pari intervallo, for organ
  7. Intermezzo for piano in A major, Op. 118/2
  8. Concerto for solo organ No. 5 in D minor, BWV 596 (BC J85) (after Vivaldi, Op. 3/11, RV 565): Sicilienne
  9. Les Baricades mistérieuses, for harpsichord (Pièces de clavecin, II, 6e ordre)
  10. Valsa da dor (Waltz), for piano in D major, A. 316
  11. La Javanaise
  12. Vocalise, song for voice & piano, Op. 34/14
  13. Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air on the G String
  14. Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Badinerie
  15. Etudes, Book 1 No. 5 ("Arc-en-ciel"), for piano
  16. Prelude for piano No. 4 in E minor, Op. 28/4, CT. 169
  17. Gymnopedie for piano No. 1
  18. Once Upon a Time in America, film score: Deborah's Theme

Album Credits

Customer Reviews