Lady Midnight (Dark Artifices Series #1) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Lady Midnight (Dark Artifices Series #1) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

by Cassandra Clare

Hardcover(Library Binding - THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY)

$22.10 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

A first entry in the new Dark Artifices series, a sequel to the internationally best-selling Mortal Instruments series, finds an adult Emma resolving to avenge the deaths of her parents and foil a demonic plot while her parabatai, Julian, struggles to bond with a returned brother who does not recognize him.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780606405355
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Publication date: 10/24/2017
Series: Dark Artifices Series , #1
Edition description: THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY
Pages: 720
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.90(h) x 2.10(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Lady Midnight, as well as the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices trilogy. She is the coauthor of The Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson and Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy with Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman, as well as The Shadowhunter's Codex, which she cowrote with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 50 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages, a feature film, and a TV show, Shadowhunters, currently airing on Freeform. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts.

Explore blogs, videos, recommended reading and more from Cassandra Clare. Learn More.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lady Midnight 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More representation; a confirmed bisexual character, a nicely written autistic character, and more people of color. Interesting concepts; ableism in Shadowhunter society, falling in love with your Parabatai, and the things people are willing to do for love. Lovely characters; many of them are easily liked and relatable. But, it's a tad drawn out and the writing is sort of confusing at times. I feel like the Mortal Instruments characters got a bit too much attention. I also am disappointed she didn't include any dialogue from Helen and Aline. I'll admit the forbidden love trope is a little tiring, but this isn't too badly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have waited for this book to come out since the final mortal instruments installment was released, and it did not disappoint. I fell in love with the characters and the storyline just as I did in TMI. I loved seeing the characters from the other books a part of Julian and Emma's story. I look forward to the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully written book about frienship, unforbidden love, and family. If you've not read "The Mortal Instruments" or "The Infernal Devices" it is suggested and will make this book even more exciting to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a well written story of forbidden love, familial responsibility, and magic. The characters are well developed and easily become people you care about. Some parts move slowly, but overall, this book delivers everything I'm looking for in a novel. My only complaint is having to wonder how long I'll have to wait for the next installment in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the Shadow Hunter books from #1 - to Marks return to the family & the institute . Kit Heron dales discovery of being a Shadow Hunter. I,Gordon Joslin, am an avid reader at 70 years young. As long as I can read my Nook books, my mind will stay active as I visualize the stories, plots, settings, and characters family, wizards, fairies & weaponry, runes, iratz.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I cannot wait to see what the rest of the series has in store.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. It lives up to the reputation of both the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices. Personally, it was a bit drawn out in the beginning, but the humor and action made up for it. I adored the ending, and am already anticipating the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cassie is a book writing wizard!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's was really good hard to put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep this series going!
JadeL More than 1 year ago
I've been reading cassie's books since i was a young teen and here I am 21 and falling in love with this new series just as much as I did TMI and DA. I read this book in only a few days and I need the next one. It had such wonderful twists and turns and the characters are beautifully flushed out. The only possible con to this book is the over-mentioning of Jace and Clary. I understand she wanted to tie it to TMI but there was perhaps too much inclusion of them in a series that isn't theirs. Overall I love this book so much! 100% Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! When is the next book coming out? I cant wait to see what happens to Emma and Julian! Also Annabel opening her eyes what directions that may go. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clare rocks, made me cry and love every minute of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book really takes some time to start up. It wasn't until pages 250 - 310 that it started getting more interesting. I didnt like all the detailed and repetitive writing about the siblings and how Julian raised them and how special each of them are. I wanted something a little more fast paced and dark. I do like Emma and I really think the series will go well. I think it just needs some more mature or serious content like in her other two series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are so lovable. Story is compelling. I liked the older, more mature characters in this book vs Clare's Mortal Instruments series. I still like the Infernal Devices trilogy the best. Clare is the master of unexpected plot twists!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love how all of the characters from the precious series have come together with some new characters! I can't wait to see how this plays out with Julian and Emma, and see how Kit's new knowledge of his heritage effects his life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a lot of fun! I couldn't put it down. This might be my favorite Shadowhunter book so far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was captivated through and through. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By far one of Clare's best works yet!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Cassandra Clare ever since I picked up her most famous novel, City of Bones. She has yet to let me down. Lady Midnight was an excellent read. For anyone who is into humor, romance, and adventure I definatly recommend giving this book a shot. All of the characters have unique personalities that you will fall in love with and want to succed in the challenges they face. I hope if you give this book a chance you'll find its as amaizing as I do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm in love! It took me a while to really get in to it but once I did, I couldn't put it down. Once again, Cassie delivers an amazing story that breaks your heart, puts it together, and breaks it again. This is a MUST read for Shadowhunter fans!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The newest installment to our window to the world of Shadowhunters did not disappoint. It takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions about family, sacrifice and love that leaves me begging for the next book. The flashbacks to several of the other books was a delightful surprise, with Magnus, Clary, Jase, Jem and Tessa woven through as well. I can't wait for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Cassandra Clare for many years and was so excited to read this book, but now that I've finished it and have given it some thought, I'm not as impressed as I was with her other works. The plot feels a little drawn out. Her fans want more more more, and she's giving them just that, but at the expense of her amazing writing ability. It seems as if Clare is trying her best to be politically correct. Gay couple? Check. Bisexual? Check. Autistic? Check. Asian? Check. Mexican? Check. The list goes on. To me it felt a little forced, as if she were told to include as many minorities as possible to up her target audience. I feel there's a repetition of characters. So far in each of her installments, there has been a strong, intelligent witty character (e.g. Jace, Will and Emma) who is balanced out by someone equally smart but quiet and level headed (Alec, Jem, Julian). While these characters are all entertaining and somewhat unique, it once again seems a little forced. And lastly, it seems that Clare is upping the sex in each book as well, and for no reason I could see. The main sex scene in this book could have been a passionate kiss and worked just as well. Just food for thought for those who have 13 yr old (or younger) daughters reading this series. Although it may not sound it from what I've said thus far, I truly did enjoy this book while I read it. I had trouble putting it down and stayed up late reading it. It was only after days of thinking it over did I realize the points I've just written. Fans of TMI and TID will fall head over heels for the Carstairs and Blackthorns, but I also wish more care had been done it editing. Hoping for a better sequel.