Pub. Date:
Turtleback Books
The Last Enchantment (Arthurian Saga Series #3)

The Last Enchantment (Arthurian Saga Series #3)

by Mary StewartMary Stewart
Current price is , Original price is $26.9. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

1 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Arthur Pendragon is King! Unchallenged on the battlefield, he melds the country together in a time of promise. But sinister powers plot to destroy Camelot, and when the witch-queen Morgause — Arthur's own half sister — ensnares him in an incestuous liaison, a fatal web of love, betrayal, and bloody vengeance is woven.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780613669788
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Publication date: 12/01/2003
Series: Arthurian Saga Series , #3
Pages: 513
Product dimensions: 5.02(w) x 8.24(h) x 1.52(d)

About the Author

Mart Stewart is one of the most widely read fiction writers of our time. The author of twenty novels, a volume of poetry, and three books for young readers, she is admired for both her contemporary stories of romantic suspense and her historical novels. Born in England, she has lived for many years in Scotland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Enchantment 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
thelorelei on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This conclusion to Mary Stewart's Merlin Trilogy is every bit as well-written and gripping as the first two (It is my understanding that there is a fourth book, but that it is from the point of view of Mordred, rather than Merlin).In "The Last Enchantment," Merlin experiences the erratic wane of his days of power. Since he has achieved what his gods have willed for him in setting Arthur safely upon the throne, he knows that his part to play is in its twilight. And though his power comes and goes, the long span of his days of glory have accrued him the respect of Arthur and his subjects, as well as the undying enmity of Arthur's enemies.In this installment we see the famous events of Arthur's adulthood: Camelot, Guinevere, The Lady of the Lake, etc. Mary Stewart's gift, however, is that she writes these people and events as if they belong to her alone. It is only after reading a certain passage that I would realize she had just set up a major legendary plot-point. She writes her characters as real people with histories and full personalities, not as figments of legend. I think Stewart may have ruined me for any other interpretation of Arthurian legend. This series is THAT good. Her period and legend research is spot-on, and obviously informs the richness of detail with which she infuses her story.