Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs

Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs

by Derek and the DominosDerek and the Dominos

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

$33.24 $34.99 Save 5% Current price is $33.24, Original price is $34.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Eric Clapton recorded "Layla" with players he met while touring as a superstar sideman with Delaney & Bonnie, with Bobby Whitlock on keyboards, Carl Radle on bass, and Jim Gordon on drums. But what makes these 1970 sessions truly memorable is the addition of guitarist Duane Allman. The title song, an anguished cry of love written to the wife of his friend George Harrison, remains an integral part of Clapton's repertoire and is equally memorable for its spiraling guitar riff as for the pastoral keyboards that supply the coda. But it's the inspired instrumental work of Clapton and Allman that made this a highlight in the career of both men. Clapton tears into a slow blues identified with Freddie King, "Have You Ever Loved a Woman," while Allman adds an empathetic slide guitar to "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out." The guitarists pay deft tribute to Jimi Hendrix on a version of his "Little Wing" and rattle the rafters on a hard-rocking original, "Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad." The collection closes with "Thorn Tree in the Garden," a sweet ballad written and sung by Whitlock that's a breath of fresh air after a set that seethes with the blues.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2008
Label: Motown
UPC: 0600753103739
catalogNumber: 5310373


  1. I Looked Away
  2. Bell Bottom Blues
  3. Keep On Growing
  4. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  5. I Am Yours
  6. Anyday
  7. Key To the Highway
  8. Tell the Truth
  9. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?
  10. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
  11. Little Wing
  12. It's Too Late
  13. Layla
  14. Thorn Tree In the Garden

Album Credits

Customer Reviews