Leapin' and Lopin' [RVG Edition]

Leapin' and Lopin' [RVG Edition]

by Sonny ClarkSonny Clark


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sonny Clark's fifth Blue Note recording as a leader is generally regarded as his best, especially considering he composed four of the seven tracks, and they all bear his stamp of originality. What is also evident is that he is shaping the sounds of his quintet rather than dominating the proceedings as he did on previous dates. Tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse and trumpeter Tommy Turrentine play very little harmony on the date, but their in-tune unison lines are singularly distinctive, while bassist Butch Warren and young drummer Billy Higgins keep the rhythmic coals burning with a steady, glowing red heat. Among the classic tunes is the definitive hard bop opener "Somethin' Special," which lives up to its title in a most bright and happy manner, with Clark merrily comping chords. Melody for C is similarly cheerful, measured, and vivid in melodic coloration. The showstopper is "Voodoo," the ultimate late-night slinky jazz tune contrasted by Clark's tinkling piano riffs. Warren wrote the exciting hard bopper "Eric Walks" reminiscent of a Dizzy Gillespie tune, while Turrentine's "Midnight Mambo" mixes metaphors of Afro-Cuban music with unusual off-minor phrases and Rouse's stoic playing. Tenor saxophonist Ike Quebec plays a cameo sans the other horns on the soulful ballad "Deep in a Dream," exhibiting a vocal quality on his instrument, making one wonder if any other sessions with this group were done on the side. Top to bottom, Leapin' and Lopin' is a definitive recording for Clark, and in the mainstream jazz idiom, as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099921536625
catalogNumber: 5003253
Rank: 65761

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonny Clark   Primary Artist,Piano
Billy Higgins   Drums
Ike Quebec   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Tommy Turrentine   Trumpet
Butch Warren   Bass

Technical Credits

Sonny Clark   Composer
Tommy Turrentine   Composer
Butch Warren   Composer
Michael Cuscuna   Reissue Producer
Ira Gitler   Original Liner Notes
Alfred Lion   Producer,Audio Production
Francis Wolff   Cover Photo
Bob Blumenthal   Liner Notes
Amanda Wray   Reissue Design
Gordon H. Jee   Reissue Director

Customer Reviews