Leave No Scone Unturned (Chef-to-Go Mystery Series #2)

Leave No Scone Unturned (Chef-to-Go Mystery Series #2)

by Denise Swanson

Paperback(Large Print)

$26.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, August 26

Overview

Another deadly fun Chef-to-Go mystery from New York Times bestselling author Denise Swanson!

The back-to-school season can be murder

It's the beginning of the university's fall semester and Dani can't wait for the college students to return to Normalton, Illinois—after all, without them, there is no one to support her Lunch-to-Go service, which is a vital part of her Chef-to-Go business. But Normalton University's orientation week is marred by a mysterious murder, along with a series of car-jackings and sightings of a mysterious creature in a pond on campus. And with the whole town feeling unsettled, Dani finds herself dealing once again with the infuriatingly handsome Spencer Drake, the head of security at the university.

Although Dani vowed that her life would never again be boring and routine after she quit her stifling corporate job, she had no idea that she'd end up dealing with such strange happenings—not to mention murder. But as the trouble in Normalton draw worryingly close to home, Dani realizes that if the killer isn't caught soon, she may be the next one who is found scone cold dead.

A delicious cozy mystery, perfect for readers of Kate Carlisle and Gayle Leeson!

The Chef-to-Go Mysteries:
Tart of Darkness (Book 1)
Leave No Scone Unturned (Book 2)

Praise for Denise Swanson's Chef-to-Go mysteries:
"Fast-paced and fun... Tart of Darkness is utterly unputdownable." —Julie Hyzy, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781432866877
Publisher: Gale, A Cengage Company
Publication date: 08/07/2019
Series: Chef-to-Go Mystery Series , #2
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 391
Sales rank: 373,992
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Denise Swanson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Scumble River mysteries, the Deveraux's Dime Store mysteries, and the Chef-to-Go mysteries, as well as the Change of Heart contemporary romances. She has been nominated for RT Magazine's Career Achievement Award, the Agatha Award, and the Mary Higgins Clark Award.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Leave No Scone Unturned 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
RudyLKR 10 months ago
Team Spencer!! Such a good second book to the series. Dani is a great character, so caring and her food sounds so good. I loved how all the different subplots wound together and the mystery totally kept me guessing until the end. I also enjoy some character cross over from the Scumble River series, it’s an added bonus for fans of both series. This series is a lot of fun with good characters, good food, good setting and I hate that I have to wait another year for the next book!
Anonymous 11 months ago
It+was+a+great+read+and+looking+forward+to+more++books.
Dollycas 12 months ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts It’s Orientation Week at the university and freshman are flocking to take part. Dani Sloan is hoping to draw new students to her Lunch-To-Go business in addition to getting the word out about her catering and personal chef services to keep Chef-To-Go going strong. Unfortunately, the area is also dealing with several car-jackings, of which one of Dani’s tenants is a victim, and an eerie creature appearing at twilight in the pond on campus. Ivy’s uncle Spencer is the head of security and he has his hands full. Dani also finds out the Ivy has been giving food left over from their catering events to the homeless who are camped out near the university. At first, Dani thinks this is a wonderful idea, but then they find Ivy’s contact person dead in his tent. Dani wants to do anything she can to help find the killer so she teams up with Spencer AND the new hunky detective, Gray Christensen. Spencer is not pleased with her new alliance at all. Dani, Ivy, Tippi, and Starr are still figuring out their living/working situation but Chef-To-Go is off to a great start. While Dani is like a big sister and friend to the girls she is learning that sometimes she must put the boss hat on as well. Dani’s relationship with Spencer is moving very slowly because they are both so busy and are getting over past relationships, but a new man entering Dani’s life has Spencer rethinking things. Some people don’t but I enjoy the beginning of a romantic triangle. Gray can really shake things up and shake things out for Dani. I am excited to see how the author continues the romantic side of Dani’s life. Ms. Swanson has entangled these wonderful characters in complicated mystery too. With each turn of the page, I became deeper ensconced into this mystery. Twist after twist truly kept me guessing. The ending was super exciting. I was really drawn in by the homeless plight that was featured. Homeless veterans, families, teens. It has become so prevalent in this nation and two sides were clearly portrayed with this story. Again, the college setting opens up so many possibilities. All the core characters are involved in college life in different ways giving the story different views of all the happenings. The author has described the layout so well that I could easily picture the events happening all over and around the campus. There is also plenty of food being made, sold, and passed around throughout the whole story. Enticingly described, I could easily whip up some of the tasty treats from those descriptions, but I was surprised there were no recipes at the end of the book. A complex mystery featuring likable and interesting characters set at a fine school of knowledge featuring delectable food. This book checks all my boxes for a fabulous cozy mystery. I highly recommend Leave No Scone Unturned to all foodie cozy lovers!
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
The school year is about to start and Dani is looking forward to promoting her business during the orientation going on in the quad, with all the new incoming freshman she is sure to attract new business. When the orientation is over she heads home to put everything away and comes across one of her renters, Ivy, talking to an unsavory looking man. She comes to learn that the man is part of the homeless population that has a place in the outskirts of the college. Ivy has been giving out any of their left overs from Dani's catering business to the homeless and the man Deuce is her go between with all the homeless. When Deuce ends up dead Dani feels the need to investigate and help find his killer. The detective on the case is eager to have her help and the two decide to help each other out with information. Follow along as they look into his death meanwhile coming across a group of zombies, a monster that only comes out at certain times, and a group of carjackers in the area. With all that is going on will they be able to find a killer among these groups or are they looking in the wrong direction? This is a great new series filled with a fun setting, a mixture of wonderful characters, and a plot that will have you eyeing everyone when it comes to the killer. I can't wait to see what Dani gets into next!!!
diane92345 More than 1 year ago
Leave No Scone Unturned is another great Chef-to-Go cozy mystery! Dani runs a catering, personal chef and fresh box lunch business in small college town Normalton. When homeless veteran, Deuce, is murdered, Dani decides to investigate. Assisting her (or vice versa) are sexy city detective, Gray, and her unrequited love interest and University security chief, Spencer. At the same time, there is a carjacking upsurge in the town and the mysterious “Creature from the Blackheart Canal” is sighted on the campus. It is always nice to see what is occurring in Dani’s life and there is a lot going on in Leave No Scone Unturned. In addition to the mysteries, Dani now has two attractive men to silently lust after. Plus her catering business takes a positive turn when she has almost too much work to handle. Reading the Chef-to-Go mysteries is like slipping back into a comforting bubble bath. You know what to expect but are still pleasantly surprised by some of the plot twists. This series just keeps getting better and is highly recommended to cozy fans. 4.5 stars rounded up to 5 stars! Thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy cozy mysteries you will really enjoy this story. It is well written with a smart plot. The story provides a number of clues but you do not realize it until it all comes together near the end. There are also a couple of romantic possibilities that make a good side story. In addition, for us long term Denise Swanson fans we get a brief visit with some Scumble River characters that cross over into this series. This is the second in the Chef-to-Go series but could easily be read as a stand alone.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
With the university school year getting ready to start, Dani is gearing up her Lunch to Go portion of her business to help support her growing personal chef and catering side of the business. As the college students head back to campus, Dani needs all hands on deck to keep up with the demand. When one of our employees begins donating left over food to a local homeless camp, Dani only wishes she had thought of it sooner. Unfortunately, not everyone in town is supportive and Dani’s business may be threatened by those that do not want the homeless in their community. When Dani and head of Campus Security, Spencer, find one of the homeless men, Deuce, murdered in his tent, there are questions as to who would have killed him and why. Was it a college prank gone back? Another homeless resident? Nothing is clear, but Spencer and q local police detective are working to solve the case as well as to capture Dani’s attention. Dani isn’t sure who to trust, but she does want to help find the man’s murderer and wonders if it’s related to a string of local carjackings, but what Deuce part of the ring?. While set in a college community, this is not a book about college coeds, though they are part of Dani’s business and the story. But rather it’s about Dani, a chef that left behind her HR job to follow her passion of cooking and truly does want to do the right thing by those in her life, and her community. With quite a few red herrings, would will have a few suspects before all is revealed. While I did figure out who the murderer was, I did not have all of the facts figured out and had a few surprises. A great series and enjoyable writing style that will leave you wanting more!