Legacy [LP]

Legacy [LP]

by David BowieDavid Bowie

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Not the first posthumous compilation from David Bowie -- that would be the lavish box Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976), which was planned prior to his January 10, 2016 death -- Legacy is nevertheless the first designed with his, well, legacy in mind. That much can be gleaned from the title of the compilation, but that's a bit of a feint since this set essentially repackages the simplest incarnation of a previous Bowie hits compilation, 2014's Nothing Has Changed. Legacy is available as a single and a double-disc, both carrying sequencings that mirror those on Nothing Has Changed (and both featuring a new mix of "Life on Mars?"). On the single disc, the first 12 songs are the same, then the back sequence is different, discarding "Absolute Beginners" and "Hallo Spaceboy" and concluding with "Where Are We Now?" and "Lazarus." Similarly, the double-disc has a nearly identical sequencing on its first disc -- "Ashes to Ashes" and "Fashion" are swapped -- with the differences arriving in the comp's final six songs, so Heathen's "Everyone Says Hi" is here, and this concludes with "Lazarus" and "I Can't Give Everything Away." In both cases, the Legacy sequencing is slightly better than that on Nothing Has Changed, since it winds up ending on the elegiac note that Bowie gave Blackstar. Still, it's splitting hairs: the 2016 and 2014 compilations are similar to each other, and they're also similar to the many Bowie comps that came before, and they're all just as likely to satisfy and pique interest. [Legacy was also released on LP.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/06/2017
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0889853765812
catalogNumber: 537658
Rank: 4314


Disc 1

  1. Let's Dance
  2. Ashes to Ashes
  3. Under Pressure
  4. Life on Mars?
  5. Changes
  6. The Man Who Sold the World
  7. Space Oddity
  8. Starman
  9. Ziggy Stardust
  10. The Jean Genie

Disc 2

  1. Rebel Rebel
  2. Young Americans
  3. Golden Years
  4. Modern Love
  5. China Girl
  6. Fame
  7. Sound and Vision
  8. Heroes
  9. Where Are We Now?
  10. Lazarus

Album Credits

Customer Reviews