Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #3)

Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #3)

by Douglas Adams


$2.92 $3.99 Save 27% Current price is $2.92, Original price is $3.99. You Save 27%. View All Available Formats & Editions


Why is it a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes?
How the planet Krikkit, hostile to anything that is not Krikkit, comes to be encased in a Slo-time envelope...
Why Arthur Dent has such an urgent wish to return the Ashes to Lord's Cricket Ground, and why a can of Greek olive oil becomes his most prized possession, symbolizing as it does the oneness of things...

How the Campaign for Real Time is determined to reverse the erosion of the differences between one century and antoher caused by easy time travel...

All these mysteries and more come to light in this, the second volume of the Hitchhiker trilogy. Follow Arthur Dent on a day which begins with his visit from Wowbagger the Infinitely Prolonged (whose goal is to insult everyone in the universe - alphabetically) and ends with the Truth, the Whole Truth and Nothing but the Truth - which turns out to have entirely too much to do with frogs.

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author DOUGLAS ADAMS enjoyed amazing success on both sides of the Atlantic in radio, television, theater, and spoken-word audio. He authored the bestselling Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy that sold over 14 million copies worldwide, as well as the other four titles in that trilogy (yes there are 5 in this trilogy). He also wrote the bestselling titles Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency and Long-Dark Tea-Time of the Soul. In May, 2001, Douglas Adams passed away unexpectedly, leaving millions of fans worldwide. The Salmon of a Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time is the treasure he left behind on the hard drive of his beloved Macintosh. Look for each of these classic titles from New Millennium Audio.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780517548745
Publisher: Random House Value Publishing, Incorporated
Publication date: 12/29/1982
Series: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Series , #3
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 1.50(h) x 9.50(d)

About the Author

Douglas Adams was born in 1952 and educated at Cambridge. He was the author of five books in the Hitchhiker’s Trilogy, including The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; The Restaurant at the End of the Universe; Life, the Universe and Everything; So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish; and Mostly Harmless. His other works include Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency; The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul; The Meaning of Liff and The Deeper Meaning of Liff (with John Lloyd); and Last Chance to See (with Mark Carwardine). His last book was the bestselling collection, The Salmon of Doubt, published posthumously in May 2002.

You can find more about Douglas Adam's life and works at

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1

Excerpted from "Life, the Universe and Everything"
by .
Copyright © 1995 Douglas Adams.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews