Live from the Inside

Live from the Inside

by Brian CulbertsonBrian Culbertson

CD(Bonus DVD)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


In smooth jazz, there can be a major disparity between how artists sound in the studio and how they sound on-stage. Smooth jazz musicians who provide stiff, formulaic, unimaginative studio recordings for radio programmers often sound a lot more spontaneous and inspired when they're in a live setting; the improvisatory instincts that they go out of their way to repress in the studio are more likely to come out in front of a live audience. Brian Culbertson is a perfectly example. The keyboardist/trombonist has recorded more than his share of forgettable background music in the studio, but on-stage, Culbertson is a lot more loose and spontaneous. And his better instincts often prevail on Live from the Inside. This 2009 recording didn't actually take place in a nightclub or amphitheater, but rather, at Capitol Records' Studio A in Los Angeles. Culbertson favors a live-in-the-studio approach, and most of his performances have the sort of spontaneity he would bring to a club or amphitheater gig. Instead of burying his chops under layers and layers of needless production, he frequently lets them flow and allows his edgier side to come out. That said, no one will mistake Live from the Inside for hard bop; R&B and pop considerations are a big part of the equation on "Always Remember," "So Good," and other groove-oriented tunes. This is commercial music, without a doubt. But it's commercial music that, for the most part, has some guts. A few of the lighter tracks are a little too syrupy for their own good. But all things considered, Live from the Inside is one of the more substantial releases in Culbertson's catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2009
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0602527134376
catalogNumber: 001323200
Rank: 20351


Disc 1

  1. Opening Credits
  2. Say What?
  3. Always Remember
  4. B's Opening Statement
  5. Hollywood Swinging
  6. Do You Really Love Me?
  7. Rehearsal Day 1
  8. The House of Music
  9. Life on the Road
  10. Back in the Day
  11. So Good
  12. Rehearsal Day 2
  13. Serpentine Fire
  14. Decatur
  15. Hookin' Up
  16. Capitol Setup Day
  17. All About You
  18. Mountain Drive
  19. Come to Me
  20. Go
  21. Chicago
  22. Funkin' Like My Father
  23. Venues
  24. Let's Get Started
  25. On My Mind
  26. B's Closing Statement
  27. Get It On
  28. Credits
  29. Our Love
  30. Full Interviews with: Brian Culbertson; Dave Koz; Ray Parker Jr.; Eric
  31. Hangin' at Atl
  32. Bc's Prvcy Photo Shoot
  33. Meet 'N' Greet
  34. Outtakes
  35. Our Love

Disc 2

  1. Get It On
  2. Always Remember
  3. Do You Really Love Me?
  4. Come to Me
  5. Go
  6. All About You
  7. Hookin' Up
  8. Let's Get Started
  9. On My Mind
  10. Back in the Day
  11. So Good
  12. Our Love

Album Credits

Customer Reviews