Live in Australia [Remastered]

Live in Australia [Remastered]

by Elton JohnElton John


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Since this 1987 release is the album that brought "Candle in the Wind" to the charts for the first time -- the song first released on Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and the song that John later reworked as a tribute to Princess Diana -- it's easy to think of this as a fairly standard live album, even if it finds John and his band backed by an 88-piece orchestra. After all, that hit became so ubiquitous, and associated with this record, that it seems that it's just a hits record, but that couldn't be further from the truth. Yes, there are some perennials here -- "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word," "Tiny Dancer," "Your Song," "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me" -- but this is a record that's tailored to the fanatic, leaning heavily on his sublime material from the early '70s. And since those records prominently featured Paul Buckmaster's lush string charts, these orchestral-graced versions never feel overly bombastic (although the horns may occupy more space than they should). That doesn't make Live in Australia necessary, of course, but it's far more interesting, even vital, than you might think, and far more vital than comparable live albums by his peers. In fact, hardcore fans who prefer 11-17-70 may be surprised how much they enjoy this record. [The 1998 reissue -- which didn't appear in the U.S. until 2001 -- contains no bonus tracks, but has full artwork, extensive liner notes, and remastered sound.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/20/2001
Label: Island
UPC: 0731455847727
catalogNumber: 558477

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elton John   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
James Newton Howard   Conductor
Robert John   Leader,Concert Master
Davey Johnstone   Guitar
Shirley Lewis   Background Vocals
David Paton   Bass
David Bitelli   Horn
Alan Carvell   Background Vocals
Ray Cooper   Percussion
Raul d'Oliveira   Horn
Jody Linscott   Percussion
Fred Mandel   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Charlie Morgan   Drums
Gordon Neville   Background Vocals
Paul Spong   Horn
Rick Taylor   Horn
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra   Track Performer

Technical Credits

David Costa   Art Direction
Gus Dudgeon   Producer,Engineer
Clive Franks   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews