Lonesome and Blue: The Complete County Recordings

Lonesome and Blue: The Complete County Recordings

by Red AllenRed Allen


$11.65 $14.99 Save 22% Current price is $11.65, Original price is $14.99. You Save 22%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Lonesome & Blue is the second Red Allen collection released on Rebel Records in 2004 and, like Keep on Going, represents a bluegrass artist at his best. The primary difference is that the second collection, comprised of material from 1965 and 1966, supplements hardcore bluegrass with a number of classic country songs. On the first half of the collection, Allen is joined by bassist Billy Yates, mandolinist Wayne Yates, banjoist Porter Church, and a young fiddler named Richard Greene. The band delivers striking versions of Bill Monroe's "Summertime Is Past and Gone" and "I'm on My Way Back to the Old Home," but also delves into Ernest Tubb's "Are You Waiting Just for Me" and the Louvin Brothers' "Seven Year Blues" (the latter previously unreleased). On the second half of the collection, Billy and Wayne Yates brothers have been replaced by mandolinist David Grisman and bassist Jerry McCoury, and dobroist Craig Wingfield has been added. The addition of Wingfield, in particular, gives the material an old-timey feel, which proves just right for Mel Tillis' "There Must Be Another Way to Live" and Johnny Bond's "I Wonder Where You Are Tonight." As on Keep on Going, Allen's vocals on Lonesome & Blue inject mountain soul into all of these songs and turn even a familiar favorite like "Milk Cow Blues" into something special. Lonesome & Blue will remind listeners just what real bluegrass and country sounds like, and will be warmly greeted by Allen fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/2004
Label: Rebel Records
UPC: 0032511112828
catalogNumber: 111128
Rank: 53360

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Red Allen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Richard Greene   Fiddle
Porter Church   Banjo,Guitar,Bass (Vocal),Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
David Grisman   Mandolin,Vocals,Baritone (Vocal)
Jerry McCoury   Bass,Double Bass
Wayne Yates   Mandolin,Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Tenor (Vocal)
Craig Wingfield   Dobro
Richard Greene & Beryl Marriott   Fiddle
Bill Yates   Bass,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Double Bass

Technical Credits

Kokomo Arnold   Composer
Lester Flatt   Composer
Bill Monroe   Composer
Earl Scruggs   Composer
Ralph Stanley   Composer
Roy Acuff   Composer
Mel Tillis   Composer
Kitty Wells   Composer
Bob Newman   Composer
Ernest Tubb   Composer
Johnny Bond   Composer
Johnnie Wright   Composer
Shorty Long   Composer
Red Allen   Arranger
David Freeman   Executive Producer
David Grisman   Producer,Audio Production
Eddie Hill   Composer
Ira Louvin   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
Curly Seckler   Composer
Jack Anglin   Composer
Jim Anglin   Composer
John Bailes   Composer
Claude Boone   Composer
Billy Wallace   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Hazel Houser   Composer
Jon Hartley Fox   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews