Love in a Time of Dragons: and Other Rare Tales

Love in a Time of Dragons: and Other Rare Tales

by Tanith Lee


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


‘A time of dragons’ might conjure the image of a fantastical medieval world, with knights dark and light, clever sorcerers and witches, doomed kings and charmed innocents. Love might seem to be very much a part of such a world, where passions rage and honour fires the blood. But the truth is that dragons come in many guises, even into modern times. As does love.

Love and the dragon go hand in hand: the hot fiery breath of desire and the madness that takes possession of the senses; the dragon sleeps within but may be awakened. Sometimes the beast is subtle, sometimes fearsomely overt in its endeavours to control the human heart, to intimidate, to conquer. Love itself can be a dragon.

Even in Tanith Lee’s most fantastical fairy tale worlds and medieval fantasies, the beating heart within her stories reveal aspects of the human condition – its weaknesses and strengths, its passions, its yearning. In this volume of tales, most of which have not been collected before, the author takes up her sword to face the dragons – not to slay them, but to see their stories reflected in the blade. For be sure they each have one to tell…

With an introduction by Craig Laurence Gidney

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781912815029
Publisher: Immanion Press/Magalithica Books
Publication date: 08/01/2019
Pages: 294
Sales rank: 687,683
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.66(d)

About the Author

Tanith Lee (1947¿2015) was a British writer of science fiction, horror, and fantasy. She was the author of more than 90 novels (including Wolf Tower and The Flat Earth series), 300 short stories (such as "When the Clock Strikes," from the collection Red as Blood), a children's picture book (Animal Castle), and many poems. She also wrote two episodes of the BBC science fiction series Blake's 7. Lee was married to artist and writer John Kaiine.

Table of Contents

Love in a Time of Dragons; Uous; Age; Battle; The Champion; Exalted Hearts; King’s Mage;

Saxon Flaxen; The War That Winter Is; After I killed Her; The Demoness; Northern Chess;

Sun City; Three Days; The Mermaid

Customer Reviews