Loverboy Classics: Their Greatest Hits

Loverboy Classics: Their Greatest Hits

by LoverboyLoverboy


$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Toronto-based Loverboy, comprised of vocalist Mike Reno, guitarist Paul Dean, bassist Scott Smith, keyboardist Doug Johnson, and drummer Matthew Frenette, was never a big hit with critics, but the band members' blend of hard-edged pop won droves of fans and kept them at the forefront of pop
ock for most of the '80s. This album contains most of their hits (excepting some more minor cuts like "Queen of the Broken Hearts"), giving a broad overview of their work. Sex was always a hot topic for the band -- think "Hot Girls in Love" -- but there is more to Loverboy than just hormones. There are also party anthems, with "Working for the Weekend" and "Turn Me Loose" being iconic in the genre. What makes this all pay off for Loverboy is that, there being nothing wrong with some harmless monster rock, as sophomoric as it can oftentimes be, the band does it with tongue firmly implanted in cheek, which is much to their advantage. If they had had any pretensions, none of the material would have worked. But being able to sing "Little girl, don't you hesitate/'Cause you're usin' live bait" with a straight face shows the band members are in on the joke. To spotlight their softer, more adult side, the band brings on "Heaven in Your Eyes" and, as a bonus, Reno's duet with Heart's Ann Wilson, "Almost Paradise," from the Footloose soundtrack, which is included, as Smith says in the liner notes, "as a way of selling more of this collection." Now who says they don't get the joke?

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/1994
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646664827
catalogNumber: 66648
Rank: 4790

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Loverboy   Primary Artist
Paul Dean   Guitar,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Matt Frenette   Percussion,Drums,Timbales
Johnson   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Saxophone,Track Performer
Marc LaFrance   Background Vocals
Nancy Nash   Background Vocals
Mike Reno   Track Performer
Scott Smith   Bass Guitar
David Steele   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jon Bon Jovi   Composer
Harry Nilsson   Composer
Richie Sambora   Composer
Jonathan Cain   Composer
Paul Dean   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer
Todd Cerney   Composer
Matt Frenette   Composer
Johnson   Composer
Mike Reno   Composer
Scott Smith   Composer,Liner Notes
Jim Vallance   Composer
Bill Wray   Composer

Customer Reviews