Madman Across the Water

Madman Across the Water

by Elton JohnElton John


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Trading the cinematic aspirations of Tumbleweed Connection for a tentative stab at prog rock, Elton John and Bernie Taupin delivered another excellent collection of songs with Madman Across the Water. Like its two predecessors, Madman Across the Water is driven by the sweeping string arrangements of Paul Buckmaster, who gives the songs here a richly dark and haunting edge. And these are songs that benefit from grandiose treatments. With most songs clocking in around five minutes, the record feels like a major work, and in many ways it is. While it's not as adventurous as Tumbleweed Connection, the overall quality of the record is very high, particularly on character sketches "Levon" and "Razor Face," as well as the melodramatic "Tiny Dancer" and the paranoid title track. Madman Across the Water begins to fall apart toward the end, but the record remains an ambitious and rewarding work, and John never attained its darkly introspective atmosphere again.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/14/1996
Label: Island
UPC: 0731452816122
catalogNumber: 528161
Rank: 5359

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elton John   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Rick Wakeman   Organ,Keyboards
Chris Spedding   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Terry Steele   Vocals,Background Vocals
Roger Cook   Vocals,Background Vocals
Lesley Duncan   Vocals,Background Vocals
Herbie Flowers   Bass,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar
Sue Glover   Vocals,Background Vocals
Davey Johnstone   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Sitar,Vocals
Sunny Leslie   Vocals,Background Vocals
Sue & Sunny   Background Vocals
Brian Dee   Harmonium
Paul Buckmaster   Conductor
Tony Burrows   Vocals,Background Vocals
B.J. Cole   Steel Guitar
Ray Cooper   Percussion,Tambourine
Terry Cox   Drums
David Katz   Violin
Jack Emblow   Accordion
Dave Glover   Bass
Robert Kirby   Choir Director
Chris Laurence   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Diane Lewis-Steinberg   Synthesizer
Barry Morgan   Drums
Dee Murray   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Brian Odgers   Bass,Bass Guitar
Nigel Olsson   Drums,Background Vocals
Alan Parker   Guitar
Roger Pope   Drums
Caleb Quaye   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Barry St. John   Vocals,Background Vocals
Liza Strike   Vocals,Background Vocals
Sue   Background Vocals
Thatcher   Acoustic Guitar
Diana Lewis   Synthesizer,ARP
Sunny   Background Vocals
Dave Glover   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Ken Scott   Engineer,Remixing
Paul Buckmaster   Arranger
Robin Geoffrey Cable   Engineer
Gus Dudgeon   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Robert Kirby   Director
Bernie Taupin   Contributor
Gill   Artwork
John Tobler   Liner Notes
David Larkham   Art Direction,Illustrations,Cover Design,Cover Photo
Steve Brown   Contributor
Yanis   Artwork

Customer Reviews