Maleficent [Original Soundtrack]

Maleficent [Original Soundtrack]

by James Newton Howard



The soundtrack to Maleficent, a reimagining of Disney's Sleeping Beauty from the villain's perspective, puts the focus on James Newton Howard's foreboding yet witty score. Stormy brass and percussion duke it out with sparkling strings and woodwinds on pieces that range from the tumultuous ("Maleficent Suite," "Battle of the Moors," "Path of Destruction") to the light-hearted ("Welcome to the Moors," "Aurora and the Fawn"). Lana Del Ray rounds out the album with an equally eerie and alluring version of "Once Upon a Dream," which serves as a reminder as to why she's become one of the most in-demand soundtrack contributors of the 2010s.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2014
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087296001
catalogNumber: 001908702

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Newton Howard   Primary Artist
Tony Lewis   Cello
Mark Berrow   Violin
Paul Cassidy   Viola
Simon Chamberlain   Piano
Nick Cooper   Cello
Roger Garland   Violin
Martin Humbey   Viola
Garfield Jackson   Viola
Helen Kamminga   Viola
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Paul Kegg   Cello
Gary Kettel   Percussion
Martin Loveday   Cello
Rita Manning   Violin
Paul Milner   Trombone
Mark Nightingale   Trombone
Ben Parry   Children's Choirmaster
Andy Pask   Bass
Maciej Rakowski   Violin
Frank Ricotti   Percussion
Sonia Slany   Fiddle,Violin
Robert Smissen   Viola
David Theodore   Oboe,Cor anglais
Cathy Thompson   Violin
Trinity Boys Choir   Children's Chorus
Allen Walley   Bass
Sam Walton   Percussion
Dudley Bright   Trombone
Clare Finnimore   Viola
Martin Kelly   Trombone
Mary Scully   Bass
Helen Tunstall   Harp
Peter Lale   Viola
London Voices   Choir, Chorus
Paul Willey   Violin
Philippa Ibbotson   Violin
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Boguslaw Kostecki   Violin
Frank Schaefer   Cello
Bruce White   Viola
Martin Owen   Horn
Andrew Parker   Viola
David Fuest   Bassoon,Contrabassoon
David Hartley   Celeste
David Daniels [cello]   Cello
Stephen Henderson   Percussion
Paul Clarvis   Percussion
Peter Davies   Trombone
Leila Ward   Oboe,Cor anglais
Ian Humphries   Violin
Helen Keen   Flute
Julian Leaper   Violin
Anthony Pike   Bassoon,Contrabassoon
Edward Vanderspar   Viola
Pete Anthony   Conductor
Richard Watkins   Horn
Nigel Short   Choir Master
Stephen Williams   Bass
Nick Hitchens   Tuba
Jane Marshall   Oboe,Cor anglais
Everton Nelson   Violin
Nigel Black   Horn
Rachel Bolt   Viola
Deborah Widdup   Violin
Anna Noakes   Flute
Roger Argente   Trombone
Lorraine McAslan   Violin
Emlyn Singleton   Violin
David Pyatt   Horn
Fiona Bonds   Viola
Ian Burdge   Cello
Paddy Lannigan   Bass
Roger Linley   Bass
Andy Wood   Trombone
Roger Harvey   Trombone
Chris Worsey   Cello
Philippe Honore   Violin
Nina Robertson   Flute
Natalia Bonner   Violin
Owen Slade   Tuba
Reiad Chibah   Viola
Camilla Pay   Harp
Laurence Davies   Horn
Vicci Wardman   Viola
Martin Burgess   Violin
Perry Montague-Mason   Violin
Rachel Roberts   Viola
Robert Plane   Clarinet,Bassoon,Contrabassoon
Thomas Bowes   Violin
Joely Koos   Cello
Kate Moore   Trumpet
Chris Baron   Percussion
Josephine Knight   Cello
Stephen Mair   Bass
Leon Enrique Bosch   Bass
David Swinson   Children's Choirmaster
Debbie Preece   Violin
Tom Pigott-Smith   Violin
Nicholas Korth   Horn
Max Baillie   Viola
Christopher Tombling   Violin
Gabrielle Lester   Violin
Roger Montgomery   Horn
Ralph de Souza   Violin
Karen Jones   Flute
John Thurgood   Horn
William Lockhart   Percussion
Caroline Dearnley   Cello
Jonathan Evans-Jones   Violin
Jonathan Williams   Cello
Michael Thompson   Horn
Julia Knight   Viola
Jonathan Rees   Violin
Alastair Mackie   Trumpet
Phillip Eastop   Horn
Katherine Gowers   Violin
Jacqueline Hartley   Violin
Phil Cobb   Trumpet
Richard Berry   Horn
John Bradbury   Violin
Paul Mayes   Trumpet
Ed Tarrant   Trombone
Paul Kimber   Bass
Michael Kidd   Horn
Lana Del Rey   Vocals
Tony Woolard   Cello
Corinne Bailey   Horn
Steve Wright   Viola
Timothy Gill   Cello
Benedict Hill   Children's Voices
Emma Hodgson   Trombone
Darren Smith   Trombone
William Gardner   Children's Voices
Warren Zelinski   Violin
Steve Morris   Violin

Technical Credits

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky   Original Material
James Newton Howard   Composer,Producer
Sammy Fain   Composer,Lyricist,Adaptation
Richard Grant   Auricle Programming
Scott Holtzman   Music Business Affairs,Legal Advisor
Jack Lawrence   Composer,Lyricist,Adaptation
Shawn Murphy   Engineer,Score Mixer
Jeff Atmajian   Orchestration
Mitchell Leib   Soundtrack Executive
Pete Anthony   Orchestration
Jon Kull   Orchestration
Lewis Jones   Scoring Recordist
Chris Cozens   Auricle Programming
Marcus Trumpp   Orchestration
Jane Cornish   Orchestration
Mark Graham   Music Librarian
Thomas Bowes   Orchestra Leader
Pamela Sollie   Scoring Coordinator
Donna Cole-Brulé   Music Business Affairs,Legal Advisor
Sunna Wehrmeijer   Arranger
Peter Bateman   Orchestration
John Ashton Thomas   Orchestration
Sven Faulconer   Arranger
Andrew Glen   Auricle Programming
Dan Heath   Producer
Jo Changer   Assistant Contractor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews