The Man in Black: 1959-1962

The Man in Black: 1959-1962

by Johnny CashJohnny Cash

CD(Box Set)

$124.70 $124.99 Save 0% Current price is $124.7, Original price is $124.99. You Save 0%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Picking up where the previous set left off, The Man In Black: 1959-1962 collects all of the recordings Johnny Cash made for Columbia between '59 and '62; the only music that was left off are his historical albums, which Bear Family had already released on Come Along on Ride Train. Like the other set, it has an abundance of alternate takes and outtake, plus a disc that captures an actual recording sessions. Again, it is primarily of interest for historians and dedicated fans willing to take the time to delve deeply into this music -- since the songs are presented in chronological order according to their session date, it doesn't make for casual listening.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127155627
catalogNumber: 15562
Rank: 114775


Disc 1

  1. Snow in His Hair
  2. I Saw a Man
  3. Lead Me Gently Home
  4. Are All the Children In
  5. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  6. I Call Him
  7. The Old Account
  8. He'll Be a Friend
  9. These Things Shall Pass
  10. It Could Be You (Instead of Him)
  11. God Will
  12. Great Speckled Bird
  13. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?
  14. He'll Understand and Say Well Done
  15. God Must Have My Fortune Laid Away
  16. When I've Learned Enough to Die
  17. I Got Shoes
  18. Let the Lower Lights Be Burning
  19. If We Never Meet Again
  20. When I Take My Vacation in Heaven
  21. When He Reached Down His Hand for Me
  22. Taller Than Trees
  23. I Won't Have to Cross Jordan Alone
  24. My God is Real
  25. These Hands
  26. Were You There When They Cruicified My Lord)
  27. Peace in the Valley
  28. Day in the Grand Canyon

Disc 2

  1. I'll Remember You
  2. I Got Stripes
  3. You Dreamer You
  4. Five Feet High and Rising
  5. The Rebel - Johnny Yuma
  6. Lorena
  7. Second Honeymoon
  8. The Fable of Willie Brown
  9. Smiling Bill McCall
  10. The Rebel - Johnny Yuma
  11. The Man on the Hill
  12. Hank and Joe and Me
  13. The Caretaker
  14. Clementine
  15. I Want to Go Home
  16. Old Apache Squaw
  17. Don't Step on Mother's Roses
  18. My Grandfather's Clock
  19. I Couldn't Keep from Crying
  20. My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You
  21. I Will Miss You When You Go
  22. I Feel Better All Over
  23. Bandana
  24. Wabash Blues
  25. Viel Zu Spät (I Got Stripes)
  26. Wo Ist Zu Hause, Mama (Five Feet High and Rising)
  27. Heartbeat
  28. Hello Again

Disc 3

  1. Tall Man
  2. Girl in Saskatoon
  3. Locomotive Man
  4. Losing Kind
  5. Five Minutes to Live
  6. Forty Shades of Green
  7. The Big Battle
  8. Blues for Two
  9. Jeri and Nina's Melody
  10. Why Do You Punish Me (For Loving You)
  11. Just One More
  12. Seasons of My Heart
  13. Honky Tonk Girl
  14. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  15. Time Changes Everything
  16. I'd Just Be Fool Enough (To Fall)
  17. Transfusion Blues
  18. Lovin' Locomotive Man
  19. Five Minutes to Live
  20. Mr. Lonesome
  21. Forty Shades of Green
  22. Folsom Prison Blues
  23. I Walk the Line
  24. Hey Porter
  25. I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
  26. There's a Mother Always Waiting
  27. Losing Kind

Disc 4

  1. Tennessee Flat Top Box
  2. Sing It Pretty, Sue
  3. Little at a Time
  4. So Do I
  5. Bonanza
  6. Shamrock Doesn't Grow in California
  7. I'm Free from the Chain Gang Now
  8. Delia's Gone
  9. Lost on the Desert
  10. I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
  11. Accidentally on Purpose
  12. You Remembered Me
  13. In the Jailhouse Now
  14. Let Me Down Easy
  15. Cotton Fields
  16. You Won't Have Far to Go
  17. Delia's Gone
  18. No One Will Ever Know
  19. Danger Zone
  20. I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
  21. Send a Picture of Mother
  22. Hardin Wouldn't Run
  23. Sing It Pretty, Sue
  24. Blue Bandana
  25. So Doggone Lonesome
  26. Johnny Reb
  27. Delia's Gone
  28. I Walk the Line
  29. I Walk the Line

Disc 5

  1. Girl in Saskatoon
  2. Girl in Saskatoon
  3. Girl in Saskatoon
  4. Girl in Saskatoon
  5. Girl in Saskatoon
  6. Girl in Saskatoon
  7. Girl in Saskatoon
  8. Empty Chair
  9. Empty Chair
  10. Empty Chair
  11. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  12. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  13. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  14. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  15. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  16. Riot in Cell Block #9
  17. Riot in Cell Block #9
  18. Riot in Cell Block #9
  19. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
  20. Rocket 69
  21. Rocket 69
  22. Blueberry Hill

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Cash   Primary Artist,Guitar,Leader,Vocals,Overdubs
Carter Family   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Floyd Cramer   Piano,Marimbas,Vibes
Jordanaires   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Buddy Clark   Bass
Tompall Glaser   Guitar
Lorne Greene   Vocals
Don Helms   Steel Guitar
Anita Carter   Vocals
Shot Jackson   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Gordon Terry   Fiddle,Vocals
Mother Maybelle Carter   Autoharp
Johnny Western   Guitar,Vocals
Anita Kerr Singers   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Joe Babcock   Banjo
Harold Bradley   Piano
Bobby Bruce   Violin
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Ray Edington   Guitar
Elliott Fisher   Violin
Marshall Grant   Bass
Buddy Harman   Drums
Irv Kluger   Drums
Billy Ray Latham   Banjo
Roy Nichols   Guitar
Luther Perkins   Guitar,Leader
Jim Pierce   Piano
Gary White   Viola
Hubert Anderson   Vibes
W.S. Holland   Drums
Ralph Hansell   Vibes
Marvin Hughes   Piano,Vibes
William Whitney Pursell   Organ
Olcott Vail   Violin
Joseph Livoti   Violin
Glaser Brothers   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jack Halloran   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jimmy Wilson   Piano
Richard Weize   Prp
Frank Green   Violin
Michael N. Kazak   Drums
Ray Liberto   Vocals
William Edward "Billy" Liebert   Leader
Anthony F. Olson   Violin
Myron K. Sander   Viola
William Everett Strange   Guitar
Roy Rivers   Vocals

Technical Credits

Lead Belly   Composer
Johnny Cash   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
George Jones   Composer
Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Hank Thompson   Composer
Eddie Noack   Composer
Gordon Terry   Composer
Arthur "Guitar Boogie" Smith   Composer
Ray Baker   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Roy Carter   Composer
June Carter Cash   Adaptation
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Illustrations,Biographical Information
Ray Evans   Composer
Mel Foree   Composer
Henry Glover   Composer
Frank Jones   Producer
Kenny Rogers   Composer
Buddy Killen   Composer
Don Law   Producer
Lewis   Composer
Jay Livingston   Composer
John D. Loudermilk   Composer
Richard Markowitz   Composer
Kenneth S. Morris   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
Vincent Rose   Composer
Guy Smith   Composer
Larry Stock   Composer
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey   Composer
Philip Bliss   Composer
R.E. Winsett   Composer
Otto Kitsinger   Illustrations
Billy Mize   Composer
Albert E. Brumley   Composer
Leon Smith   Composer
Michael Ochs   Illustrations
Phil Wells   Tape Comparison
Jerry Strobel   Illustrations
Dave Booth   Illustrations
Hoffmann Nienburg   Artwork
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Production Reissue Coordinator
William Edward "Billy" Liebert   Arranger
Alma Todd   Illustrations
Darrell Edwards   Composer
Dave Ringle   Composer
Dick Toops   Composer
Herbert Buffum   Composer
Roy Cash   Composer
Ted Doyle   Composer
Charlie Williams   Composer
Traditional   Composer
R. Wilson   Composer
Fred Meinken   Composer
Tony Barrett   Illustrations
Theodore "Ted" Harris   Composer
Karl Silbersdorf   Composer
Chuck Harding   Composer
Will L. Thompson   Composer
Craig Starrett   Composer
Buddy Mize   Composer
Joachim Relin   Composer
Lou Herscher   Composer

Customer Reviews