Marked for Death: The Lost Mark, Book 1

Marked for Death: The Lost Mark, Book 1

by Matt Forbeck

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Marked for Death begins a new epic trilogy set in the world of Eberron, Wizards of the Coast’s newest D&D® campaign setting.

The Eberron world will continue to grow through new roleplaying game products, novels, miniatures, and electronic games.

AUTHOR BIO: Matt Forbeck has written and designed games for more than 14 years, for which he has garnered several awards. His most recent title for Wizards of the Coast was Secret of the Spiritkeeper, the kickoff novel for the Knights of the Silver Dragon™ young reader series for Mirrorstone™ Books.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786964840
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
Publication date: 05/14/2013
Series: The Lost Mark
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 882,102
File size: 3 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Marked for Death: The Lost Mark 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is strictly a book for fans of Dungeons and Dragons, Eberron, or game world fantasy. If you like that genre, its actually a pretty decent book, though not quite up to the quality of Doug Niles or R. A. Salvatore. A thrown together group of adventurers must try to prevent evil forces from capturing a young elf who's only crime is that she may bear a long lost Dragonmark, making her the potential scion of a very powerful new house.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let me start by saying I enjoyed this book but found it a little disappointing. This may be because the other two Eberron books I have read were so good. But, as I said, I did enjoy this book and there were a number of things I liked about it: First, the premise on which it was based was both interesting an intriguing. Basically, in Eberron there are twelve Dragonmarked Houses. A select few of the members of these houses are born with (or develop) dragonmarks which are marks on the body that look like tattoos and grant spell-like abilities to those born with them. Each house exclusively has one type of dragonmark. In the distant past there used to be thirteen dragonmarks but only twelve remain, as one family (the House of Vol) was mostly eradicated. The premise of this book is that the lost thirteenth mark, The Mark of Death, has returned. The good guys seek to find and protect the bearer of the mark while the agents of a cult known as the Blood of Vol seek to find and use the bearer for their own purposes. Second, the book gives a nice overview of Eberron by incorporating a lot of Eberron-specific content into the story. For the most part this is done without overwhelming the reader. It does not read like a bunch of gaming information thrown into the novel. Instead it works within the structure of the story. Third, the story is quick-paced and action-packed. The actions scenes are for the most part well written and descriptive. While I often found myself sympathizing with the plight of the main characters and wanting to know more about them I thought this is where the book could have been improved. For one thing, while the characters were interesting their actions were often inexplicable. For example, in the beginning when a group of strangers are expected of a very gruesome murder, the mayor orders the justicar (sort of a town sheriff) to arrest them and perform a trial by fire. The justicar refuses and the mayor has him arrested and thrown in jail. Does he then have the strangers arrested and subjected to the trial by fire. No, instead he invites them over to dinner unguarded and with their weapons. This is just one of many examples throughout the book of scenes that left me scratching my head. (I was also a bothered by the shifter's inability to distinguish the shifter by her smell as mentioned by a few of the other reviewers) Furthermore, at times the characters seemed flat and uninspired showing little development as the story progressed. The dialogue could also have been better. Finally, the story does get a bit repetitive after a while, although not so much that I found it annoying. Overall, I feel that the story got better as it went along and having started the second book in the series I believe that it is better than the first. So if you are a fan of Eberron or RPG-related books I would probably recommend this book.