This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Mary Magdalene Revealed: The First Apostle, Her Feminist Gospel & the Christianity We Haven't Tried Yet

Mary Magdalene Revealed: The First Apostle, Her Feminist Gospel & the Christianity We Haven't Tried Yet

by Meggan Watterson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on July 7, 2020


—WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER— The Gospel of Mary Magdalene reveals a very different love story from the one we've come to refer to as Christianity. Harvard-trained theologian Meggan Watterson leads us verse by verse through Mary's gospel to illuminate the powerful teachings it contains.

A gospel, as ancient and authentic as any of the gospels that the Christian bible contains, was buried deep in the Egyptian desert after an edict was sent out in the 4th century to have all copies of it destroyed. Fortunately, some rebel monks were wise enough to refuse-and thanks to their disobedience and spiritual bravery, we have several manuscripts of the only gospel that was written in the name of a woman: The Gospel of Mary Magdalene.

Mary's gospel reveals a radical love that sits at the heart of the Christian story. Her gospel says that we are not sinful; we are not to feel ashamed or unworthy for being human. In fact, our purpose is to be fully human, to be a "true human being"- that is, a person who has remembered that, yes, we are a messy, limited ego, and we are also a limitless soul.

And all we need to do is to turn inward (again and again); to meditate, like Mary Magdalene, in the way her gospel directs us, so that we can see past the ego of our own little lives to what's more real, and lasting, and infinite, and already here, within.

With searing clarity, Watterson explains how and why Mary Magdalene came to be portrayed as the penitent prostitute and relates a more historically and theologically accurate depiction of who Mary was within the early Christ movement. And she shares how this discovery of Mary's gospel has allowed her to practice, and to experience, a love that never ends, a love that transforms everything.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401954284
Publisher: Hay House Inc.
Publication date: 07/07/2020
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 248,920
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Meggan Watterson is the author of Reveal, The Sutras of Unspeakable Joy, and The Divine Feminine Oracle and the co-author of How to Love Yourself (and Sometimes Other People). She is a feminist theologian with a Master of Theological Studies from Harvard Divinity School and a Master of Divinity from Union Theological Seminary at Columbia University. Meggan facilitates the REDLADIES-a community of radical love that lets her preach about female saints, mystics, gurus, and poets who inspire and teach us to live in service of love. She leads retreats and workshops on the divine feminine, Mary Magdalene, and the soul-voice meditation. Her work has appeared in media outlets such as The New York Times, Forbes, The Huffington Post, and Marie Claire. She lives with her old-soul son and his exuberant goldfish, Bob.

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Eye of the Heart xiii

Why I Could Kiss a Copt 1

We Can't Half-Ass Death 6

The First Powers Darkness

What We Have Forgotten 11

The Christianity We Haven't Tried Yet 15

How a Feminist Sees an Angel 19

The Secret Ministry of Currer Bell 24

Leviticus in Bunny Slippers 28

The Second Powers Craving

The Girl Who Baptized Herself 33

The Passion of Saint Perpetua 39

Grandma Betty's Lightbulb Eyes 43

The Angriest Christian I've Ever Met 49

The Buddha Tara's Badass Vow 52

Misunderstanding Mr. Mister 56

The Three Marys 59

The Red Thread 63

The Third Powers Ignorance

What Happens in the Wilderness 69

The Gospel of Mary Magdalene 73

What It Means to Be Saved 78

What It Means to Be Human 81

What I Learned as the Burning Bush 84

How to Meditate Like Mary Magdalene 91

The Red Egg 96

The Body Never Lies 101

Mary Magdalene Was Not a Prostitute 105

No One Was There to Witness the Witness 113

The Power to Judge 116

The Red Spring 118

Like a Same-Sex Divine Feminine Noah's Ark 123

A Religion Every Body Belongs To 127

Why I Am Proud to Be Part Impala 130

How the Long Island Medium Answered My Prayer 139

The Fourth Power Craving for Death

A Ship Without Sails 143

The Yoni of the Mountain 151

What I Heard in Mary Magdalene's Crypt 155

The Fifth Power Enslavement to the Physical Body

The Princess of Mercy 159

The Cave of Eggs 165

She Who Confirms the Truth 175

The Sixth Power The False Peace of the Flesh

The Whole Point Is That It Never Ends 183

Love Has Already Won 185

The White Spring 191

The Seventh Powers The Compulsion of Rage

What We Have Remembered 195

The Woman with the Alabaster Jar 199

The Language of the Angels 203

The Prayer of the Heart 207


I Believe Mary 213

Appendix 1 The Soul-Voice Meditation 223

Appendix 2 Mary Magdalene's Red Thread Reading List 227

Appendix 3 Resources for Giving and Receiving Support 229

Endnotes 231

Acknowledgments 235

About the Author 239