Monster Magnet's Greatest Hits

Monster Magnet's Greatest Hits

by Monster MagnetMonster Magnet

CD(Dutch Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


During the early '90s, a new crop of Black Sabbath-esque bands was being hailed by the media as the next big thing -- perhaps even as a challenge to grunge. At the top of this list were Kyuss, Masters of Reality, and Monster Magnet. While all three did indeed carve niches for themselves and help launch the stoner metal movement of the late '90s, none exactly battled Soundgarden and Nirvana for the top of the charts. Monster Magnet came the closest, however, due to a brief flirtation with the masses with 1998's Powertrip and its rock radio hit, "Space Lord." But there was obviously more to the band led by the man with the nifty facial hair, Dave Wyndorf, as evidenced by the 2003 release Greatest Hits. Imagine the perfect soundtrack for a bunch of stoned/longhaired hippies staring at a projection-screen light show, and you're not far off from such Monster Magnet favorites as "Negasonic Teenage Warhead," "Dopes to Infinity," "Space Lord," and "Powertrip." And following in the footsteps of the aforementioned Soundgarden and Kyuss, Monster Magnet also cover Black Sabbath's "Into the Void," albeit in a completely overhauled way. Since their studio albums were known to be a bit uneven at times, the best way to experience Monster Magnet may be through a compilation, and Greatest Hits covers all the bases.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/10/2007
Label: Universal Int'l
UPC: 0602498081952
catalogNumber: 9808195
Rank: 33411

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Monster Magnet   Primary Artist
Vince Jones   Keyboards
Tim Cronin   Drums,Group Member
Matt Hyde   Guitar
Jim McGillveray   Percussion
Dave Wyndorf   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Theremin,Vocals,Bells,Mellotron,Group Member
Philip Caivano   Guitar,Group Member
Jon Kleiman   Bass,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ed Mundell   Bass,Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
John Flannery   Guitar
Phil Western   Synthesizer
Joe Calandra   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Scott Garrett   Drums

Technical Credits

Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Geezer Butler   Composer
Bob Ezrin   Producer
Matt Hyde   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Tony Iommi   Composer
Bill Kennedy   Engineer
Steven Lyle Martin   Producer,Remixing
Steve Rosenthal   Producer,Engineer
Randy Staub   Engineer
Joe Warda   Engineer
Dave Wyndorf   Composer,Producer,Art Direction
Bill Ward   Composer
Phil Western   drum programming
Rich Frankel   Art Direction
Larimie Garcia   Art Direction
Sandy Brummels   Art Direction
Robert Leecock   Illustrations
Dan Druff   Guitar Techician
Gersh   Drum Technician
Joe-Mama Nitzberg   Art Direction

Customer Reviews