Roy Orbison: The Monument Singles Collection [CD/DVD]

Roy Orbison: The Monument Singles Collection [CD/DVD]

by Roy OrbisonRoy Orbison

CD(Digi-Pak / Bonus DVD)

$29.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Celebrate the 75th birthday year of Roy Orbison with the long-awaited release of Roy Orbison: The Monument Singles Collection. This two-CD/one-DVD set includes all the A- and B-sides recorded by Roy for the Monument label during an electrifying peak from 1959-'66. Restored to pristine mono mixes for the first time since their original 7" vinyl releases, the collection presents The Big O's core classic catalog the way it's meant to sound and also includes the first-ever DVD release of Orbison performing nine songs from "The Monument Concert 1965."

Roy Orbison signed with the newly emerging independent label Monument Records in mid-1959. Orbison's third single for the label, "Only The Lonely (Know How I Feel)," announced to the world the true artistry of Roy Orbison. The song peaked at #2 on the Billboard Pop Singles chart and rocketed up to #1 on the U.K. charts. Orbison followed up the breakthrough with a pair of respectfully charting singles before knocking it out of the park with "I'm Hurtin'," his first U.S. #1. After that came an unbroken four-year string of Top 40 hits during which Roy Orbison became America's top-selling recording artist and one of the world's most celebrated entertainers. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2011
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886978415820
catalogNumber: 784158
Rank: 26465

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roy Orbison   Primary Artist,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Hank Garland   Guitar
Scotty Moore   Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar
John Rainey Adkins   Rhythm Guitar
Anita Kerr Singers   Background Vocals
Byron Bach   Cello
Brenton Banks   Violin
George Binkley   Violin
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Boudleaux Bryant   Guitar
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Solie Fott   Violin
Pamela Goldsmith   Violin
Buddy Harman   Drums
Jerry Kennedy   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Wayne Moss   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Cam Mullins   Trumpet
Boots Randolph   Saxophone
Billy Sanford   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Henry Strzelecki   Bass
Cecil Brower   Violin
Howard Carpenter   Viola
Marvin Hughes   Piano
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica,Saxophone
Wilda Tinsley   Violin
Bob Moore   Bass
Fred Carter   Guitar
Paul Garrison   Drums
Carl Garvin   Trumpet
Kenneth Goldsmith   Violin
John W. Greubel   Drums
Jerry Arnold   Drums
Bill Dees   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Joe Melson   Background Vocals
Joe Tanner   Guitar
Martin Kathan   Violin
Harry Johnson   Saxophone
Dana King   French Horn
Barry Boothe   Piano
Alline Fentress   Violin
Mary Hicks   Violin
Bill Gilmore   Bass
Vernal Richardson   Violin
Dorothy Walker   Violin
Lillian Vann Hunt   Violin
Shelly Kurland   Violin
Robert Bays   French Horn
Jane Norris   Violin

Technical Credits

Willie Nelson   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer
Gene Pitney   Composer
Fred Foster   Producer
Wesley Rose   Producer
Buddy Jackson   Art Direction
Bill Dees   Composer
Claude Demetrius   Composer
Joe Melson   Composer

Customer Reviews