Moribund

Moribund

by Genevieve Iseult Eldredge

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"Moribund is a little bit Throne of Glass[and] a little bit Buffy ... all the elements of a great YA adventure are there: first love, coming of age, and battling the dark Fae in a sparkly prom dress. Syl and Euphoria will reel you in, the sudden twists will keep you guessing, and the nailbiter finish will have you cheering." - Skye Allen, author of The Songbird Thief

Dark Fae. Romance. Evil Plots. High school. Our heroines could be in for the greatest adventure ever. If only they could decide whether to kill or kiss each other.

High school sophomore Syl Skye is an ordinary girl. At least, she’s trying to be. School photographer and all-around geek, she introverts hard and keeps her crush on sexy-hot glam-Goth alt-rock star Euphoria on the down-low. But when a freak accident Awakens her slumbering power, Syl is forced to accept a destiny she never wanted—as the last sleeper-princess of the fair Fae.

Suddenly hunted by the dark Fae, Syl’s pretty sure things can’t get any worse. Until she discovers her secret crush, Euphoria, is really a dark Circuit Fae able to harness the killing magic in technology. Even worse, she’s been sent to destroy Syl.

With mean girls and magic and dark Fae trying to kill her, it’ll take more than just “clap if you believe in fairies” to save Syl’s bacon—not to mention, her heart.

THE CIRCUIT FAE
1. Moribund
1.5 Derailed
2. Ouroboros
2.5 Dethroned
3. Inimical
3.5 Rekindled
4. Nemesis
5. Eidolon

Perfect for readers of romance, urban fantasy, fairy stories and LGBT.

"I recommend Moribund to fans of original fae lore when it comes to their Urban Fantasy cravings, engaging stories about self-discovery while juggling almost-crushing responsibilities, and overcoming adversity in adrenaline-fueling life and death situations. It comes with a good serving of sweet and angstylicious FxF teen romance plus strong, kick-ass (and snarky-ish) heroines you’ll love both as a couple and on their own." - Liv Olteano, author of Thirteen Mercies, Three Kills

“So, this book has freaking everything. I'm talking romance, adventure, fae, battles, and even more romance. What else do you want from a novel?” – Christina Bauer, author of Angelbound

“Overall it had the feeling of watching a good urban fantasy TV show, and I could easily see this being adapted into a hit show in the vein of Supernatural or Once Upon a Time. Absolutely worth the price for a fantastical, romantic, action-packed story.” – Jerry, Goodreads

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781945723087
Publisher: Firefly Hill Press, LLC
Publication date: 09/12/2017
Series: Circuit Fae , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 250
Sales rank: 940,845
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Raised by witches and dragons in the northern wilds, Genevieve Iseult Eldredge (GIE) writes angsty urban fantasy YA romance--where girls who are mortal enemies kick butt, take names, and fall in love against all odds.

She enjoys long hikes in the woods (where better to find the fair folk?), believing in fairies (in fact, she's clapping right now), dancing with dark elves (always wear your best shoes), being a self-rescuing princess (hello, black belt!), and writing diverse books about teenage girls finding love, romance, and their own inner power.

She might be planning high tea at the Fae Court right now.

GIE is multi-published, and in her role as an editor has helped hundreds of authors make their dream of being published a reality.

See why GIE's fans say she does "a fabulous job bringing the story to life" as a "master of world building," who is "well-versed in the craft of writing," and "stellar" at "writing for the broader community."

Follow GIE
website: https://www.girlyengine.com/
Facebook: Genevieve Iseult Eldredge – Author
Twitter: @girlyengine
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/girlyengine/

Join GIE's newsletter and never miss a release: http://monsterhousebooks.com/contact

THE CIRCUIT FAE SERIES
Moribund eSampler (FREE)
Moribund
Derailed (a Moribund prequel)
Ouroboros
Dethroned
Inimical

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moribund 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
IcePrincess85 More than 1 year ago
I love this series! I'm usually not into urban fantasy but I got this book when it was free because I wanted to try a new fantasy series. I ended up purchasing the other books in the series before finishing the first five chapters. In this book, Rouen and Syl deal with figuring out their feelings for each other while Rouen is under a Contract of Blood and Bone to kill all fair Fae princesses. The problem? Syl is the last fair Fae princess. I love the tension this creates between the two. Rouen tries her best to protect Syl but at the end of the day, when Agravaine uses her true name, she has to obey the Contract. That puts Syl in a lot of danger because she just found out she's a Fae princess and doesn't have full control of her powers. The dialog is witty and I laughed out loud several times. It was difficult to put this book down. I stayed up late because I needed to know how Rouen and Syl got out of trouble. The story moves quickly and the action scenes are amazing. Most of the story takes place in Virginia but you get a glimpse of the dark and fair Fae worlds (you learn a lot more about these worlds in the later books).
DaniReads115 More than 1 year ago
This author is truly talented! Well-versed in the craft of writing and clearly skilled in character building, Eldredge has done a magnificent job bringing her YA fantasy to life. I love the elements of diversity in her world and she does a beautiful job of creating a very real world inside a stunning realm of fantasy. I can't wait to read more by this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the first two chapters and could tell it wasn't for me.
CharityRowell-Stansbury More than 1 year ago
Snarky and geeky with some sentimentality between the two protagonists., loved it! I received a free copy of this book with the option of posting a review. I think I was expecting one of the protagonists to grapple with the concept of their homosexuality but they didn't and I was glad! In all honesty, I was hoping it would be an awesome YA novel in which the author combined Fae magic with technology because the premise is unique and it sounded pretty awesome. I got what I wished for and then some! I found myself instantly liking Syl and Euphoria; both were witty, geeky, sarcastic, and kick-butt in their own way. The notion of combining technology and Fae magic was interesting; however, it was not really explained in any great detail and I would have liked to know more about it. Also, a glossary of the terms used in the book might have made it a bit easier to read and understand but I was able to get the gist of their meanings from the context the terms were used in. The romance between Syl and Euphoria was super-cute and the wholesome, "I believe in you" moments, while clichéd, suited the characters' personalities and I enjoyed them. The bulk of the plot centered on the developing relationship between Syl and Euphoria, and the Awakening of Syl's powers as a sleeper-princess. The history of the antagonists wasn't explored in any great detail, but in great enough detail to understand that both of them were driven by jealousy and greed. Considering that Moribund is a YA fantasy novel and not an epic, I feel that the author provided enough information about the antagonists to pique my interest without stalling the plot by providing unnecessary information about two petty, hateful, and jealous antagonists. The dialogue between the characters was an entertaining combination of endearing corniness, geekiness, and snark. I can't wait to read the next book as I am excited to see what Ms. Eldredge has in store for readers!
SplatterGeist More than 1 year ago
Without a doubt Moribund is a great introduction for those who are not quite so familiar with stories about the fae, or fantasy in general. There are strong resemblances to Marissa Marr's beautiful Wicked Lovely series and Cassandra Clare's Immortal Instruments series, making Moribund an awesome nostalgic story. You have a typical love/hate thing going on with a heck lot of sinister forces hurling a bunch of whoa-mamma magic and mayhem in the air. And these are s bunch of teenagers. Give Moribund a go, it might just become a favorite.
pixyjazz More than 1 year ago
Moribund is a fascinating new take on typical fae stories. I have to say, the synopsis is what sucked me in, and the cover is gorgeous, so I knew I had to read this book. Moribund is the tale of a shy, geeky sixteen year old girl named Syl who discovers a secret she didn't know she had. A secret her mom has been keeping from her for her entire life. She's one of the Summer Fae's Sleeper princesses, although she has no idea what that means. At least not right away. Euphoria, Syl's glam-Goth crush, also happens to have a secret. She's a Dark Fae, but oh, so much more than that. Exiled by the Dark Fae, Euphoria is forced to join forces with a horrible person who not only convinces her to do bad things, but infects her with evil magic that turns her into one of the Circuit Fae. He does this because he has plans for her; plans she wants nothing to do with. He also has other nefarious plans that make him pure evil. I really enjoyed this book. The characters were fun, unique, and adorable. I especially found Euphoria to be a great character. She may have drawn the short straw in life, but she didn't let that stop her from stepping outside of what she was expected to do/be/act like/etc. I do wish there had been a little more world building when it came to the home of the Dark Fae. I was intrigued by Euphoria's original home, and I would've liked to have seen more detail with that. But hopefully there will be tons more in the sequel. I'm also curious about the Summer Fae world, and if that will play a part in Syl's life at all. The plot of the story moves along at a decent pace, and there were times I found myself unable to put the book down, even though I knew I should so I could "adult" for a little while. That's how good it was. It sucked me in and didn't want to let go. Overall, Moribund is an exciting, unique read that's LGBT friendly, but doesn't focus solely on that aspect. Nor is it a main plot point. At least not to me. Sure, both characters are crushing on each other, but their romance is sort of sidelined by everything else going on. I highly recommend this book to fans of urban fantasy, fans of stories about fae, and fans of LGBT friendly fiction. I give Moribund 5 well-deserved stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been dying to read this since I downloaded the sampler a few months ago! This book has just the right mix of romantic teen angst and witty dialogue to keep me turning the page. Both heroine and villainess have strong, but very different voices (alternating first person). I think Rouen is my favorite, but it's hard to decide!