Mr. Isaacs

Mr. Isaacs

by Gregory Isaacs


$14.50 $16.99 Save 15% Current price is $14.5, Original price is $16.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11


The Cool Ruler is not known primarily as a cultural roots singer. Instead, his bread and butter has always been a particular brand of seductive lover's rock, always delivered at languid tempos in a reedy, not-particularly-attractive voice. So the largely political content of Mr. Isaacs, while not unprecedented, was still something of a departure from the norm when it was originally released in the '70s on the Jamaican Cash & Carry label. It succeeds for a couple of reasons, not the least of which is the rock-solid playing of the Revolutionaries. But Gregory deserves credit for understanding that trenchant political statements are sometimes most effective when delivered with the least amount of drama. The lines "I was given as a sacrifice/To build a black man's hell and a white man's paradise" are all the more biting when sung in Gregory's cool, lilting tenor-lesser interpreters would have clenched up and emoted; he lets the words speak for themselves and offers a vocal counterpoint instead of hammering the message home. "Story Book Children" is sweet and wistful; "Handcuff," like "Sacrifice," simmers with quiet outrage. And there are a couple of love songs, too, just so you don't forget you're listening to the Lonely Lover. Excellent.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/09/2019
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645420020
catalogNumber: 20020
Rank: 21538

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gregory Isaacs   Primary Artist
Leroy Sibbles   Vocal Harmony
Ansel Collins   Keyboards
Radcliffe Bryan   Guitar
Carlton "Santa" Davis   Drums
Tyrone Downie   Keyboards
George Fullwood   Bass
Bernard Touter Harvey   Keyboards
Ossie Hibbert   Keyboards
Earl Lindo   Keyboards
Barry Llewellyn   Vocal Harmony
Tommy McCook   Tenor Saxophone
Earl Morgan   Vocal Harmony
Lloyd Parks   Bass
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Rhythm Guitar
Noel "Scully" Simms   Percussion
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Keith Sterling   Keyboards
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace   Drums
Stanley "Barnabas" Bryan   Drums
Errol "Tarzan" Nelson   Keyboards
Robbie Lyn   Keyboards
Albert Valentine "Tony" Chin   Rhythm Guitar
Winston "Bo Peep" Bowen   Rhythm Guitar
Vincent Don D Junior Gordon   Trombone
Bertram "Ranchie" McLean   Bass
Lowell "Sly" Dunbar   Drums

Technical Credits

Chip Taylor   Composer
Leroy Jodie Pierson   Liner Notes
Lloyd Charmers   Composer
Clement "Coxsone" Dodd   Composer
Ossie Hibbert   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Winston "Niney" Holness   Composer,Producer
Gregory Isaacs   Composer,Producer
Bunny Lee   Composer
Jimmy Riley   Composer
Billy Vera   Composer
William Robinson   Composer
Steve Barrow   Liner Notes
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer
Tony McDermott   Reissue Package Design
Huford Brown   Composer
Dave Hendley   Back Cover
Patrick Blackwood   Cover Photo
Lester Bullock   Composer
Harry Hawke   Liner Notes
Bob Andy   Composer
Harry Wise   Liner Notes
Errol "Errol T" Thompson   Engineer
Joe Spalding   Composer
Pete Weston   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews