Music for People in Trouble

Music for People in Trouble

by Susanne SundførSusanne Sundfør


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The sixth studio long-player from the Norwegian singer/songwriter, Music for People in Trouble sees Susanne Sundfør ditching the glacial dancefloor synth pop of 2015's acclaimed Ten Love Songs and looking inward. Written during a period of personal upheaval -- a huge star in her native Norway, the success of Ten Love Songs, among other things, nearly broke her -- the stark and aptly named set delivers all of the emotional richness of its predecessor, but in a more meditative voice. Willfully intimate, Sundfør's vocals, powerful as always, are more often than not accompanied only by piano or guitar. A classically trained pianist who isn't afraid to incorporate elements of jazz, folk, and musique concrète into her pieces -- the latter disposition looms large on the fractured title cut -- Sundfør's songs are both relatable and alien; dispatches from a planet whose axis is tilted a single degree further out from the plane of its orbit around the sun than our own. Contrast is key, like the thermal pedal steel that punctuates the otherwise downcast "Reincarnation," the ambient footsteps, cell phone beeps, and wandering clarinet that highlight the cruel boredom of insomnia on the evocative "Bedtime Stories," and the arm-hair-raising crescendo of the majestic, John Grant-assisted closer "Mountaineers." Such militant introspection can sometimes be off-putting, but Music for People in Trouble is rooted in empathy, and even at its most cynical -- the woebegone "No One Believes in Love Anymore" comes to mind -- the warmth of its core radiates outward.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/22/2017
Label: Bella Union
UPC: 5414939961960
catalogNumber: 686
Rank: 63610

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Susanne Sundfør   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Piano (Grand)
Jon Balke   Piano (Grand)
John Grant   Vocals
Jorgen Træen   Synthesizer,Electric Guitar,Double Bass
Jesse Chandler   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Clarinet
Erik Johan Bringsvor   Acoustic Guitar
Gard Nilssen   Percussion,Drums
Petter Eldh   Double Bass
André Roligheten   Saxophone
Megan Kovacs   Zither
Lewis Sebastian Kay-Thatcher   Spoken Word
Andres Roberts   Spoken Word

Technical Credits

Scott Petito   Engineer
Jorgen Træen   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Johnny Skalleberg   Engineer
Susanne Sundfør   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Kåre Christoffer Vestrheim   Engineer
Luke Jarvis   Layout
Iggy B   Engineer
Clay Schmitt   Engineer

Customer Reviews