Musical Affair [Bonus Tracks]

Musical Affair [Bonus Tracks]

by Ashford & SimpsonAshford & Simpson


$12.55 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.55, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The year 1980 was fairly eventful for Nick Ashford and Valerie Simpson. In addition to writing and producing Gladys Knight & the Pips' excellent About Love, the duo had a major hit of their own with the snappy "Love Don't Make It Right." Nonetheless, 1980's A Musical Affair didn't go down in history as one of Ashford & Simpson's essential albums. This vinyl LP isn't bad; most of the tracks are decent, and a few are excellent, most notably "Love Don't Make It Right," the melancholy "Get Out Your Hankerchief," and the sentimental ballad "Happy Endings." But overall, A Musical Affair isn't exceptional -- likable and pleasant, but not exceptional. After five-star treasures like 1977's Send It, 1978's Is It Still Good to Ya, and 1979's Stay Free, one greeted this record with high expectations; however, A Musical Affair falls short of the consistent excellence that had characterized some of their best late-'70s albums. Some might even go so far as to say that in 1980, Ashford & Simpson gave their best songs to Gladys Knight & the Pips, whose About Love is nothing to be ashamed of. Both commercially and creatively, that LP was the group's most successful album since 1974's I Feel a Song. In fact, the single ("Landlord") made it to number three on Billboard's R&B singles chart. So Ashford & Simpson certainly did right by Gladys Knight & the Pips in 1980, even though their own 1980 album falls short of essential. A Musical Affair is best recommended to Ashford & Simpson's hardcore fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2010
Label: Wounded Bird Records
UPC: 0664140345829
catalogNumber: 3458
Rank: 101603

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ashford & Simpson   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Rob Mounsey   Synthesizer,Strings,Horn
George Young   Flute
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Nick Ashford   Background Vocals
Francisco Centeno   Bass
Ray Chew   Clavinet,fender rhodes,Soloist,Mini Moog
Eddie Daniels   Flute
Eric Gale   Guitar
Ullanda McCullough   Background Vocals
Chris Parker   Drums
Paul Riser   Flute,Strings,Horn
Valerie Simpson   Piano,Background Vocals
Jimmy Simpson   Tambourine,Hand Clapping
John Potoker   Hand Clapping
Mike Hutchinson   Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Nick Ashford   Composer,Producer
Valerie Simpson   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews