My Life II...The Journey Continues (Act 1)

My Life II...The Journey Continues (Act 1)

by Mary J. BligeMary J. Blige


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Intro excepted, a devout Mary J. Blige fan could listen to these 70 minutes of music as an untitled album and never think of it as a sequel to 1994's My Life. Technically titled My Life II...The Journey Continues (Act 1) -- yes, it's the first act of a continuation -- it's more the successor to Blige's previous album, Stronger with Each Tear. Blige is in a much different, presumably much better place now than she was when she made the turbulent My Life. That album has one guest who appears during a half-minute interlude; there really isn't much room for any other voice. My Life II, like Stronger, is more like My Life and Those of Others Who Join Me, as it is it involves a succession of high-profile guests: Nas, Busta Rhymes, Drake, Rick Ross, Beyoncé, Diddy, and Lil Wayne. Those who are hoping for something in the spirit of mid-'90s Blige might be disappointed and think of the title as a ploy, but those who expect a wide variety of material in terms of style and mood will get precisely that. The first half contains several uplifting, upbeat numbers, including a muscular cover of Rufus & Chaka Khan's "Ain't Nobody," where producer Rodney Jerkins seems to have placed the synthesizer bass from René & Angela's "I'll Be Good" in a deep fryer. Chest-beating pleader "25/8" clearly aims for classic status with a Gamble/Huff sample. The second half is heavy on ballads.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/21/2011
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602527861289
catalogNumber: 001625702
Rank: 28565

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mary J. Blige   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Paul Pesco   Guitar
David Davidson   Violin
Ron Fair   Various
Per Lindvall   Drums
Glen Scott   Piano
Martin Terefe   Bass,Guitar
Jim Jonsin   Keyboards
Pierre Medor   Keyboards
Rico Love   Vocals,Background Vocals
Cristyle   Background Vocals
Max Baillie   Viola
Danny Keane   Cello
Emma Smith   Violin
Danny Morris   Keyboards
Kevin Cossum   Vocals
Borham Lee   Keyboards
Oliver "Akos" Castelli   Keyboards
Akene Dunkley   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Chris Hicks   Management
Mary J. Blige   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Busta Rhymes   Composer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Composer
David Davidson   String Arrangements
Ron Fair   Producer,Engineer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Eric Hudson   Composer,Producer
Leon Huff   Composer
Andrea Martin   Composer
Rodney Jerkins   Producer,Vocal Producer
Damon Thomas   Composer
Dennis Coles   Composer
Robert Diggs   Composer
Kuk Harrell   Vocal Producer
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart   Composer,Producer
David Calderley   Art Direction
Jerry "Wonda" Duplessis   Composer,Producer
James Scheffer   Composer
Crystal Johnson   Composer
Harvey Mason   Composer
Beyoncé Knowles   Composer
Kenny Meiselas   Legal Advisor
Martin Terefe   Producer
Arden Altino   Composer,Producer
Alicia Graham   Administration
Gary Grice   Composer
Jim Jonsin   Programming,Producer
Kendu Isaacs   Composer,Producer,Management
Dyre Gormsen   Engineer
Pierre Medor   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Daniel Morris   Composer
Matt Morris   Composer
Russell Jones   Composer
Todd Douglas   Music Business Affairs
Sergio "Sergical" Tsai   Engineer
Sean Garrett   Composer,Producer
Clifford Smith   Composer
Ashley Fox   Marketing
Rico Love   Composer,Producer
Danja   Producer
Danny "Stems" Cheung   Engineer
Cristyle   Composer
Andrew Wuepper   Engineer
Josh Gudwin   Engineer
Sonya Guardo   Legal Advisor
Jason Hunter   Composer
Nikolas Marzouca   Engineer
C. Gilbert   Composer
Nate Hills   Composer
David Wolinski   Composer
Stuart White   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Lamont Hawkins   Composer
Corey Woods   Composer
Brian "B-Luv" Thomas   Engineer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer
Jaha Johnson   Management
Kenneth Coby   Composer
Mike "Snotty" Miller   Engineer
Dave Young   Composer
Underdogs   Producer
Marcella Araica   Composer,Engineer
Susan Hilderley   Music Business Affairs
Brian Alvarez   Music Business Affairs
Matt Champlin   Engineer
Priscilla Renea Hamilton   Composer
Kevin Cossum   Composer
Greg Morgan   Sound Design
Elgin Turner   Composer
Menardini Timothee   Composer
Bridge   Producer
Darryl Hill   Composer

Customer Reviews