My Life in the Bush of Ghosts [Bonus Tracks]

My Life in the Bush of Ghosts [Bonus Tracks]

by Brian Eno, David ByrneBrian Eno

CD(Remastered / Enhanced)

$16.25 $18.99 Save 14% Current price is $16.25, Original price is $18.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 9


My Life in the Bush of Ghosts is a masterpiece of pop experimentalism. Using tape loops and raga-like song structures, Brian Eno and David Byrne worked out a brilliant formula: they out-tripped trip-hop long before Tricky, Portishead, and the advent of sampling technology. Check out "The Jezebel Spirit" -- it's a writhing, complex interweaving of found vocals, layered percussion, chiming guitars, doppler-effect synthesizer, and throbbing bass. Each song works in a similarly organic fashion. The artists' synergy is marvelous, as Eno blends the idiosyncratic bounce of his off-kilter pop with Byrne's worship of manic polyrhythms and jangly guitar sounds. An all-star line-up of musicians from the then (1979-80) fertile "downtown" New York scene (including Bill Laswell and David van Tieghem) give inspired and accomplished performances here -- a refreshing reminder of the power of musicianship in an age of machine-driven amateurism. My Life in the Bush of Ghosts captures Eno and Byrne at the height of their powers; the result is a work that is greater than the sum of its considerably talented creators.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/11/2006
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597989427
catalogNumber: 79894
Rank: 61949

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brian Eno   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Bass Guitar
David Byrne   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Bass Guitar
Bill Laswell   Bass
Busta Cherry Jones   Bass
John Cooksey   Drums
Chris Frantz   Drums
Dennis Keeley   Bodhran
Mingo Lewis   Stick,Bata
Prairie Prince   Percussion,Drums,Bass Drums
Jose Rossy   Conga,Agogo,Agong-Gon
Steve Scales   Percussion,Conga,Metal Objects
David Van Tieghem   Percussion,Drums
Tim Wright   Bass

Technical Credits

David Byrne   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Bill Laswell   Arranger,Composer
Busta Cherry Jones   Arranger,Composer
Michael Crétu   Composer
Brian Eno   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production,Cover Image
David Fairstein   Composer
Chris Frantz   Arranger
Robert Fripp   Arranger
Dave Jerden   Engineer
Eddie Korvin   Engineer
Johnny Potoker   Engineer
Prairie Prince   Contributor
Rev. Timothy Wright   Composer
David Van Tieghem   Arranger,Composer
Tim Wright   Arranger
Neal Teeman   Engineer
Stacy Baird   Engineer
Robert Edridge Waks   Editorial Coordinator
Amos Tutuola   Writer,Author

Customer Reviews