The Naked Brothers Band

The Naked Brothers Band

by The Naked Brothers BandThe Naked Brothers Band

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$11.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The first Naked Brothers Band album is a collection of songs from their Nickelodeon series, which began airing in February 2007, eight months before the release of this eponymous album. The Naked Brothers Band are a sextet but only two members are seen on the front cover of the album: Nat and Alex Wolff, the brothers who are the stars of this group. Alex drums, while Nat sings, plays keyboards, and, most importantly, writes the fizzy bubblegum songs that give the series its pop. At the age of just 11, Nat already shows a knack for irresistible hooks, and he can deliver those hooks in several different ways, from the pure pop shimmer of their theme song "If That's Not Love" and the jangly "Taxi Cab" (its guitars bringing to mind the Monkees' "Last Train to Clarksville" without ripping it off) to the surprisingly tough rocker "I'm Out" and the funny Jimmy Buffett sendup "Banana Smoothie." Since these songs were almost all written for inclusion in 22-minute TV episodes, they're all brief -- most clock in around two minutes, with a few inching up all the way to three -- but that makes them easier to like, since the songs make their points and then get out of the way, yet the hooks are still ringing in your ears afterward. And while not every one of these 17 songs click, enough do to suggest that the Naked Brothers Band -- and particularly Nat -- have enough skill to make this something more than a brief flash in the pan. After all, the best testament to its strength as bubblegum pop is that it's as much fun to hear apart from the show as within the show; these sunny melodies are appealing to bubblegum fans who have no idea about the show, too. [This edition of The Naked Brothers Band includes the bonus tracks "Long Distance" and "Catch Up with the End."]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2007
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886971622829
catalogNumber: 716228
Rank: 162853

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Naked Brothers Band   Primary Artist
Peter Maunu   Guitar
Michael Wolff   Accordion,Keyboards
Jennifer Condos   Bass
Erik Friedlander   Cello
Bob Glaub   Bass
John Guth   Guitar
Craig Stull   Guitar
Matt Laug   Percussion,Drums
Nat Wolff   Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Alex Wolff   Drums,Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael McDonald   Engineer
Michael Wolff   Arranger,Producer
John Guth   Engineer
Tom McCauley   Engineer
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
Thor Laewe   Remixing
Nat Wolff   Composer
Alex Wolff   Composer
Michael A. Levine   Arranger,Producer
Polly Draper   Creation

Customer Reviews