by Jay SeanJay Sean


$12.31 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.31, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Neon is the final product of a long road of release date delays and endless changes for British R&B vocalist Jay Sean. Issued in 2009, All or Nothing was Sean's third album but his first for U.S. rap dominators Cash Money Records, and following its enormous success he was poised for even greater things. Work on an album called Freeze Time was announced, and over the next few years singles kept leaking out, some of them becoming huge hits, thanks in no small part to guest contributions from pop superstars like Nicki Minaj and Pitbull. Years dragged on and the album known as Freeze Time became mysteriously scrapped, replaced by more odd one-off releases and ultimately, after many delays, the arrival of Neon. Production here is far more pop, but the R&B elements of Sean's sound are more a guiding force for these songs than mere undertones, and his voice is as soulful and soaring as ever. Despite the absence of tunes already certified as hits before the album's release, Neon often stays true to the formula that gave birth to previous smashes, including standout tracks with cameos from the likes of Rick Ross, Busta Rhymes, and Ace Hood. When the production strays from well-worn pop devices is when things get really interesting, as on the drifty beat and spaced-out samples of "Mars," a near-psychedelic ode to getting high with your lover that floats by on Sean's wafer-thin falsetto. Likewise, the Dream-indebted "Passenger Side" breaks out of cookie-cutter pop with its heavy, druggy beat and pained lyrical delivery. [A clean version of the disc was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/30/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537476145
catalogNumber: 001890902
Rank: 114352

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jay Sean   Primary Artist
Jared Cotter   Background Vocals
Michael Hannides   Background Vocals
Anthony Hannides   Background Vocals
Rock City   Background Vocals
Sam Hook   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Bryan Williams   Executive Producer
Julian Vasquez   Engineer
Robert Larow   Composer,Producer
Jeremy Skaller   Composer,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Jon Perkins   Composer
Robert Williams   Composer
Supa Dups   Producer
Jay Sean   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Dwayne "Supa Dups" Chin Quee   Composer
Chad Jolley   Engineer
Jared Cotter   Composer,Vocal Producer
J remy   Producer
Nasri Atweh   Composer
Andrew Grant   Engineer
Timothy Thomas   Composer
Theron Thomas   Composer
Justin Lucas   Composer
Dwayne Carter   Executive Producer
Ronald "Slim Tha Don" Williams   Executive Producer
Brian Kennedy Seals   Composer,Producer
Anthony Kronfle   Engineer
Rob Persaud   Composer,Producer
Michael Hannides   Composer
Anthony Hannides   Composer
Antoine McColister   Composer
Dewain Whitmore   Composer
Khaled Rohaim   Composer
Sam Hook   Composer
Nic Martin   Composer,Producer
Ameerah A. Roelants   Composer
Jamil Chammas   Composer,Additional Production
Illevin   Producer
Bains   Engineer
Trevor Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews