Never Cry Halibut: and Other Alaska Hunting and Fishing Tales

Never Cry Halibut: and Other Alaska Hunting and Fishing Tales

by Bjorn Dihle


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


From the sharp, comic voice of Haunted Inside Passage, Never Cry Halibut is a collection of humorous and thoughtful short essays about hunting and fishing in Alaska.

Accompanied by photographs, each story reflects the author's three-decade relationship with the wildest places left in North America as he interacts with brown bears, wolves, wilderness, commercial fishing, and the nearly forgotten act of harvesting food from the wild. From hilarious tales of his nieces outfishing him to reflective ruminations on the human connection to nature, Bjorn captures the liveliness that comes from living so close to the Southeast Alaska wilds.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781513260921
Publisher: West Margin Press
Publication date: 04/03/2018
Pages: 200
Sales rank: 944,473
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.60(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Southeast Alaska native Bjorn Dihle is a writer, commercial fisherman, teacher, and wilderness guide. You can find his work in Alaska Magazine, Sierra, Earth Island Journal, Adventure Kayak, Juneau Empire, Hunt Alaska Magazine, FIsh Alaska Magazine, Alaska Sporting Journal, andNorth of Ordinary. This is the follow-up to his first book, Haunted Inside Passage.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Blacktails and Brown Bears

Chapter 2: Sooty Obsession

Chapter 3: The First Deer

Chapter 4: My Best Trophy

Chapter 5: Fish Terrors

Chapter 6: Mountain of Memories

Chapter 7: Return of the Prodigal Fisherman

Chapter 8: Meat Hunter’s Creed

Chapter 9: Never Cry Halibut

Chapter 10: Fishematics

Chapter 11: High Country Blacktails of Admiralty

Chapter 12: Dear, Please Sponsor My Alaskan Diet Plan

Chapter 13: Goat Obsession

Chapter 14: Fortymile Caribou

Chapter 15: A Bloody Business but a Good Life

Chapter 16: A Good Weight to Carry

Chapter 17: Fishiction

Chapter 18: Monarch

Chapter 19: Dear Patagonia, Please Hire Me as a Fashion Designer

Chapter 20: Adak Caribou

Chapter 21: The Constant Fisherman Syndrome

Chapter 22: Deerslayer

Chapter 23: A Few Hours of Pain for a Winter of Good Eating

Chapter 24: Bird Dog

Chapter 25: The Fish That Refused to Get Away

Chapter 26: From Forest to Freezer

Chapter 27: The Wolf and the Fawn

Chapter 28: The Trails We Follow

Chapter 29: In the Time of Ptarmigan

Chapter 30: Of Relationships and Freezers

Chapter 31: Caribou Spoons

Chapter 32: The Caribou of the Brooks Range

Chapter 33: Dear National Geographic, Please Produce My Reality Show Idea

Chapter 34: Yakobi Island and Cross Sound

Chapter 35: Sheep Country

Chapter 36: Grizzly Country

Chapter 37: Fishlove

Chapter 38: Sisu

Customer Reviews