New City Blues [Bonus Track]

New City Blues [Bonus Track]

by Aubrie SellersAubrie Sellers




When pushing her 2016 debut New City Blues, Aubrie Sellers dubbed her sound "garage country" -- not a bad description of her world-view, which is constructed equally from noisy rock swagger and Nashville classicalism. There's a tension between these two extremes and Sellers' sweet, placid voice -- which, it has to be said, occasionally resembles the timbre of her mother Lee Ann Womack, even if the two tackle songs quite differently -- takes on different dimensions according to her arrangements. When things are either gnarled or spooky, she cuts against the guitars, providing a compelling contrast, but when things soften, she enhances her hushed surroundings. In both cases, her unaffected delivery -- not flat but rather direct, lacking any sense of showboating -- proves quietly compelling, the foundation from which New City Blues is built. One of the best qualities of this debut is its construction, from the production of Frank Liddell -- best known for his work with Miranda Lambert and also Sellers' stepfather -- to the songs themselves. Perhaps Sellers succumbs to the temptation to be a little bit too on the nose -- "Magazines," her broadside against media-fabricated standards, hits every expected mark -- but her execution is still sharp and when all the gears kick in, New City Blues is exceptional: soulful, smart, and unpredictable, Americana music that doesn't feel beholden to tradition even when it embraces it. [New City Blues was also released with two bonus tracks: live studio versions of "In My Room" and "The Way I Feel Inside."]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2016
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624916819
catalogNumber: 557437

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aubrie Sellers   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Glenn Worf   Bass
Fred Eltringham   Percussion,Drums
Jason Sellers   Background Vocals
Park Chisolm   Banjo,Guitar
Chris Coleman   Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards
Tim Marks   Bass
Adam Wright   Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Ukulele,Background Vocals
Josh Grange   Guitar,Steel Guitar
Jason Goforth   Harmonica,Lap Steel Guitar
Dani Flowers   Background Vocals
Grant Vogelfanger   Background Vocals
Ice Ann Womack   Background Vocals
Frank Rischie   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brian Wilson   Composer
Rod Argent   Composer
Gary Usher   Composer
Philip White   Composer
Chuck Ainlay   Engineer
Jason Sellers   Composer
Neil Mason   Composer
Frank Liddell   Producer
Mando Saenz   Composer
Adam Wright   Composer
Brent Cobb   Composer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Amber White   Composer
Jesse Jo Dillon   Composer
Aubrie Sellers   Composer
Dani Flowers   Composer
Brandon Schexnauder   Engineer

Customer Reviews