The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier

The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier

by Terry CallierTerry Callier

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Special Edition / 180 Gram Vinyl)

$33.24 $34.99 Save 5% Current price is $33.24, Original price is $34.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier was not released until 1968, about three years after the project was originally completed; while the long delay almost certainly crippled the momentum of Callier's fledgling career, the impact on the music itself was at most minimal -- while not the singer's best album, it's his most timeless and inviting, adhering closely to the folk stylings addressed by the title while largely ignoring the mystical jazz dimensions which texture his later material. Surprisingly, none of the album's eight songs are originals, relying instead on traditional tunes like "900 Miles" and "Cotton Eyed Joe"; while Callier's spiralling acoustic guitar lines and the use of two bassists (Terbour Attenborough and John Tweedle) reflect his admiration of John Coltrane, New Folk Sound is for the most part stark and simple, possessed of a subtle grace which spotlights his remarkably moving vocals to excellent effect -- it's a debut which holds all the promise fulfilled by his classic recordings for Cadet.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/2018
Label: Craft Recordings
UPC: 0888072053441
catalogNumber: 97


Disc 1

  1. 900 Miles
  2. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be
  3. Johnny Be Gay if You Can Be
  4. Cotton Eyed Joe
  5. It’s About Time
  6. Promenade in Green
  7. Spin, Spin, Spin
  8. I’m a Drifter

Disc 2

  1. Jack O’Diamonds
  2. Golden Apples of the Sun
  3. Promenade in Green
  4. Be My Woman
  5. 900 Miles
  6. It's About Time
  7. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be

Album Credits

Customer Reviews